Month: August 2006

  • Heavy questions.

    Yesterday I was listening to NPR, which I do whenever I’m in the car. Unfortunately I can’t always hear everything because the kids are playing screaming or making general kids noise and occasionally they want my attention, go figure.  So I don’t know what this show was or what it was about but I did hear this short part.

    They did a study asking people these questions…

    You see a street car carrying five people on it towards a certain death.  You have an opportunity to switch the tracks but there is one person on the new track that cannot move so he would be killed instead of the five on the trolley. Would you do it?

    Apparently the majority of the people said yes they would.The line of thinking being that one life is worth less then five. Then they asked…

    Imagine the same scenario but now instead of switching the tracks you are standing next to someone that if pushed in front of the car would stop it. Of course that person would then be dead. Would you push the one to save the five?

    The majority of people said no. I don’t know why that’s where my attention was dragged to something else but I have to wonder now what is the difference? One you have to actually have your hands on the person your going to kill and the other you just pull a stick?

    So in evening chatter with my husband I ask him what he would do. I was expecting the stock answer but he surprised me,after eleven years of marriage I don’t know why it did because his answer was so him.

    He said no, he wouldn’t switch the tracks. So I said in a bit of shock “You would let five people die instead of one.”

    “Sure who am I to say that the life of that one person is less valuable then the life of those five.”

    “So your going the fate avenue on this one?”

    “I guess you could say that.”

    Then thinking I was being clever I asked:  if he could throw himself in front of the trolley would he? To which his response was: No, because even though he didn’t know the value of the lives on the trolley he did know he highly valued his.  I have to say here that I value him too.  I’d probably be  pissed if he did kill himself, even if it was to help others. I guess I’ll have to think about what kind of person that makes me.

    As for myself…I’m not sure what I would do. We’d probably all like to think we would be heroic or even self sacrificing but that’s the problem with hypothetical situations, their hypothetical. It’s probably a good thing too since they are mostly horrific or strange situations. I mean really have you ever had a hypothetical situation put to you that wasn’t?

    And that being said. What would you do? Just curious.

  • Don’t be a Moron.

    The kids and I were driving home from school shopping when my daughter Isabelle(Is) says..

    “If you fell from the sky would you die?”

    Before I could explain what gravity is or ask why you would be falling from the sky, my son pipes up with.

    “You would be a complete moron if you didn’t have  a parachute on.”

    I don’t say moron…I don’t even say shut up (only to my little sister) so I  wonder where he came up with that, probably the one eyed monster. I meant the television…I’m talking about my kids here…minds out of the gutter!

     Anyway, you know he has a point.

  • Ahhh. Thank you for the directions. Ignore the tag line. right now I do feel like a complete idiot.lol  As far as the video I feel like I’m the one in the bandana and the other two are my sister and our friend Heather.

  • WHAT!

    AHHHHHHH… It didn’t work. Here we go again.

  • Learning….

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BpIysx4a8-g So I’m still learning.Just when I think I am getting the hang of this I start goofing up. It took me a day to figure out how to post a video even after I was given directions. When I did figure it out, it was so easy I wanted to bang my head on the wall! Any way this is blue man group, as some of you pobably know. I enjoy them. I really like thier I feel video but the one listed was not a good copy. Now my next challenge is to load my own video. But I think I’ll rest for a day, my head can’t take any more tonight. Well here’s hoping this goes, I’m holding my breath.

  • Look what I did. And I only cut myself about fifty times.

    S.G.fish for my Pop.


    For my stained glass blog friends just showing my stuff. Sorry about the outside picture, I couldn’t get a good one. I love doing fish. It’s such a challenge to choose the right kind of glass and to try and convey movement. Hint: when I made this pattern I drew it several ways the wavy lines make the fish seem to be moving at a medium speed if I put straight lines in it gives more of an urgent feel.


     I used irridecent glass,


    ripple glasses, wimsatch, and glass globs. what do you think?

  • my day…my life?

    I FELT A CLEAVING IN MY MIND-

    AS IF MY BRAIN HAD SPLIT-

    I TRIED TO MATCH IT- SEAM BY SEAM-

    BUT COULD NOT MAKE IT FIT.       

                                                 -Emily Dickinson   c.1860

  • Yea when they walk through the valley of death I will fear no flea!

    Our dog has fleas. If any of you have ever experienced a pet with this problem you   know what a HORROR  it truly is.You know the creeping skin feeling that comes every time I see him scratch. You know how repulsed I was when I gave him a bath and the little buggers started bailing ship as I doused them in foaming chemical bubbles.You know the hardship of having to wash every cloth item in your house and wipe down every hard surface after you try to bomb the little suckers out, not to mention the fact that you are evicted from your place of residence for an extended period of time while you do it. 


    Well I am seeing an end , I have been bathing him every other day snuffing out little life forces as I laugh my evil aha ha laugh, screeching  DIE FLEAS DIE. (It works.) 


    Both the dog and the fleas do object to this as one proved the first time I gave Max a bath (I know terribly cliche #1 pet name in U.S.)  it leapt onto my wrist and bit me. It hurt. I squished him. Poor Max, he’s just  a bit raw and I’m sure upset with me because I don’t want to pet him. When I do I envision tiny little blood suckers jumping on my skin, just the thought makes me itchy all over. His coat is white and shiny though and if there were girl doggies around I’m sure they would like it. That’s probably another one of his gripes no nukki- nukki for Max.


     On a side note I wonder if fleas are  the crabs of the dog kingdom… just a thought. I know a sick one but… 


    Tonight I only found two and I started to chant the hallelujah chorus and do a jig.


    Hopefully the cycle is broken and his frontline will kick in and he will never get fleas again. There’s nothing wrong with hoping.


     And for all of you who wrinkle your nose and think ewww how could she let her dog get fleas. It only takes a walk outside and BOOM! There they are.  So don’t scoff… remember Karma can be a real kick in the Ahem. Please just join me in the joy of anticipating the end of my plague. 


    Well until tomorrow when the battle will rage on. Tonight I sleep on a pillow of peace freshly laundered with I pray not a flea in sight.

  • FEED MY ADDICTION!!!




    I have become a xanga addict! I think this is only about the three millionth time I’ve logged on today! Okay slight exaggeration but it has been a few times. No one is posting fast enough for me!


     In spite of my new addiction I still managed to get some work done the garage purging continues. All I can say is ahhhh it feels good!


     Come on people support my habit, I need comments, I need postings so I can comment. Okay so right about now I’m feeling a little pathetic. Of course I suppose if I wanted to feel really pathetic I could dwell on the fact that it is a Friday night and I have been looking forward all day to nothing but watching Monk and Psych and posting on xanga. Oh old age what have you done to me. Yeah that’s it, Pathetic.

  • Philosophers have argued for centuries about how many angels can dance on the head of a pin, but materialists have known all along that it depends on whether they are jitterbugging or dancing cheek to cheek.   -Tom Robbin from Jitterbug Perfume