Month: June 2008

  • DOORS mine and others… contest entry

    I think that Beth was feeling sorry for me and let me get more of the DOOR shots when we were in NYC.

    revolving door.jpg

    I had to get a revolving door…

    Now I wish I had put a little more time into it, ahhh well.

    cathedral doors.jpg

    St. Patrick’s Cathedral doors

    Craftea put up a DOOR post while I was galavanting.

    and I somehow missed THIS door too.

    If you put up a door, or a door post that you took for the perfect picture search,

     send me a message and I will link it!

    Happy door hunting!

    DIgital Detours has more DOORS up too.

    *********************EDIT***********************

    bearded bathing beauty

    Aloysius-son is having a bathing suit contest. I hope I’m not too late with my entry.

    How do I look?

  • Xanga- a dangerous place for cartoon characters

    NEW YORK CITY AND XANGA 490.jpg

    When we arrived there was some hesitation about letting us in.

    NEW YORK CITY AND XANGA 089.jpg

    Our presence was a disturbance to their every day work routine and they value their privacy. 

    NEW YORK CITY AND XANGA 024.jpg

    Once they found out we came bearing gifts they loosened right up and welcomed us into their world.

    Left to right are Euginia, Natalia, and Stephen.

    Beth distracted them with fresh strawberries and home made apple sauce while I wandered the office and took pictures.

    Things were in a bit of disarray because they are in a moving process.
    That may explain their skittish behavior…

    (or it could be that they were leery of the two strange bloggers that showed up at their office. hmm…)

    Here is a look at the what’s on the other end of your Xanga internet connection.

    NEW YORK CITY AND XANGA 098.jpg

    A large open room separated only by desks, I often found myself wanting to yell across the room to the people sitting on the other side. I am not a free range person, what can I say, I need boundaries.

    Luckily I managed to restrain myself, so I didn’t spook the staff.

    Okay, there was that ONE time, but it was necessary.

    NEW YORK CITY AND XANGA 100.jpg

    There are several comfy spots to sit.

    I think those are Adam’s golf clubs, in my enthusiasm at finding he was a fellow Michigander,

    I forgot to ask him.

    Adam with pipe.jpg

    Besides

    It would have been a shame to disturb his pipe time.

    NEW YORK CITY AND XANGA 486

    There is one enclosed space, they sometimes use it for Office Hours,

    a room full of books, all read by John, see, he’s good looking AND smart.

    NEW YORK CITY AND XANGA 106.jpg

    Here Marc fidgets while discussing the mysteries of  sauerkraut making and poinsettias with Seedsower.

    NEW YORK CITY AND XANGA 108.jpg

    It looked to be a very casual, comfortable place to work. 

    NEW YORK CITY AND XANGA 094.jpg

    Maybe they were all skittish because of copious amounts of caffeine?

     

    NEW YORK CITY AND XANGA 091.jpg

    I am hoping this is just a random cartoon character and not someone they hung in effigy!

    A blogger that was giving them a hard time perhaps?

     

    I was pondering… hmm What would people want to see?

    Well inside the refrigerator of course!

    NEW YORK CITY AND XANGA 096.jpg

    We were lured away from the office by Natalia, she used the promise of a lunch with John.

     

    Metro returant.jpg

    We met him here, had a great lunch, good food and interesting conversation.

     These are just a few  of the faces we saw and wonderful personalities we met at the Xanga offices.

    Some of the people we were hoping to meet were traveling, so we missed them

    BUT it just gives us a reason to go back.

     

    I think they took a liking to us.

    They let us leave our things there while we

    -went off to a  Broadway show

     -watched a movie being made

     -shook the hand of a star,

     -ate great food

    -took an insane amount of pictures

    -spent TOO much money on souvenirs, fabrics, and buttons

    and

    -almost gave a rickshaw driver a heart attack, 

     that’s another blog all together.

    It was great not having to haul our stuff all over the city,

    It was  really nice of them to let us leave our stuff there so we didn’t have to worry about losing things,

    or someone stealing our bags and going through them…

    Ruffling through our bags…

    Wait…

    I wonder if they…

    Nah.

    (Like there would be anything worth looking for!)

    Our bags were heavier when we left with the tshirts they gave us!

     

    We went back to the Xanga office several times and were always greeted by smiling faces and open ears as they listened to us gush over our city adventures.

    Xanga hallway.jpg

    So on our quest for the perfect DOOR shot this year,

    this may not be my best picture of one,

     but it is by far my most adventurous and favorite of the year.

    THANKS XANGA TEAM for being,

    well,  

    YOU.

     

     

  • Some of what I saw

    We made it home safely.

    I can’t believe how much fun we had.

    veiw from the top .jpg

    From the top of the Empire State building I saw A LOT.

    Pidgeon are you looking at me.jpg

    I also had a grand time harassing the pigeons, on our whole visit actually.

    There was probably a pigeon cry of relief when our bus left the city.

    harrassed pigeon.jpg

    When there was a possibility for a shot like this though,

    How could I NOT harass them?

    the chrysler building..jpg

    The Chrysler Building

    the rock 2.jpg

    The Rock

    laughing at reflections.jpg

    There’s a lot going on in this picture.

    I call it Laughing at Reflections.

    Newyork library door walk by.jpg

    A DOOR of course.

    This may be my favorite one of the year.

    Is it my perfect door shot? I don’t know…

    bus station floor shoes.jpg

    Just for The Green Panther a.k.a. Becky.

    Xangan feet on a dirty bus station floor.

    Just what she always wanted!

    Tomorrow I head home, I can’t believe my time is over, it’s been such a blast!

    I will be glad to get home to my Baby… umm… Babies, and get around to all of your sites and visit.

    I will try to answer all of the scrapple questions then.

    Also coming soon to a blog near you,

     specifically mine,

     Lunch at Gray’s Papaya,

     A look into the hidden life of the Xanga team,

    and

    A chat with the Citizens of NYC, stay tuned!

    SO

    Do you like what I saw?

    What is your favorite?

     

     

  • SEE BETH’S POST!
    I just had to post… something… FROM XANGA!
    SO
    BLERGH!

  • Eating adventures and more

    Pennsylania 6-24-08 011.jpg

    scrapple

    Pennsylania 6-24-08 016.jpg

    shoo fly pie

    My samples of the area cuisine.

    (Beth isn’t fond of scrapple, but she was kind enough to let me try it.)

    working the field.jpg

    He was kind enough to let me take his picture.

    I actually yelled at him and asked if I could, he said sure go ahead.

    Beth is rubbing off on me, she always asks.

    I am usually a sneaker, shoot and run.

    Martain house flying in.jpg

    I didn’t ask her…

    or

    Buzzy working.jpg

    Him…

    or

    squirrels at play.jpg

    These two.

    How rude of me.

    Oh and here is something I was working on I couldn’t show you guys.

    I wanted to give Beth something she could put in her garden, see it, and think of me.

    So what says ANGI more then…

    Pennsylania 6-24-08 149.jpg

    A big cheesy toad with blue eyes.

    Maybe I should have given him a beard.

    It was killing me not to do progress report posts on him!

    I will have to do those later, better late then never.

    Tomorrow it’s off to NYC!

    We are having a GREAT time! Thanks for all of the wishes.

    We haven’t been arrested yet, so our trouble can’t be that bad… that or we haven’t been caught!

    Be safe!

  • WOO HOO!

    bridge on the road.jpg

    I saw many cool things on the way!

    Unfortunately I was driving and not taking picture.

    Well mostly not…

    Now I’m at Beth’s! ! !

    Guess what I’ll be doing!

    reflection of a door.jpg

    Have a great day!

  • Some of what I saw today.

    Today was Super Sam’s birthday party.

    Every year my sister has a big party.

    One year Elmo showed up and the next year Big Bird came.

    This year was a super hero theme so I was expecting a hunky guy in tights to appear at some point, it didn’t happen.

    Sam's super hero party 6-22-08 014.jpg

    My youngest Brother in law letting me take a goofy picture of him.

    He protested it though.

    D put me in charge of face painting!

    I did a couple fairy princess faces and some super hero headbands and of course…

    I did a…

    Sam's super hero party 6-22-08 021.jpg

    Charlie was Super Mario… So he needed a mustache.

    Sam's super hero party 6-22-08 027.jpg

    Cooper had to have one because he wanted to be like Charlie.

    Sam's super hero party 6-22-08 064.jpg

    When the pugs line up like this I find it funny.
    The way they’re standing reminds me of the Cingular commercials…

    More bars in more places.

    Sam's super hero party 6-22-08 041.jpg

    Of course I had to take a few random shots.

    stormy bubbles.jpg

    I love taking bubbles, they are hard to get, but you never know what you will catch.

    Can you tell why I like this one?

    Off to bed I go. I head to PA tomorrow, so if your in PA consider yourself warned.

    You still have time to get out!

     

  • How I See It

    We are hanging out at the house and playing on the slip and slide today.

    Someone asked me to show them how I see Detroit…

    sam and d blurred.jpg

    I  see my beautiful sister and my nephew.

     

    artomat 2-24-07 009.jpg

    I see the ArtOMat…

    Detroit trip 2-24-07 032.jpg

    I see my Sister’s pugs they are always vastly entertaining…

    I see the quilt I made for my Sister, I like visiting it, it was one of my favorites and hard to let go… So I visit it.

     

    zoo tri[p 264

    I see cool restaurants…

    flytrap

     

    zoo tri[p 261

     

    zoo tri[p 257

    I see interesting signs and lettering EVERYWHERE…

    zoo tri[p 399

    Interesting people EVERYWHERE.

    bear behind.jpg

    I see a  zoo!

    Detroit is a great place to visit…

    I’ll show you more of what I see here.. later…

    I promise.

     

     

     

     

     

  • AWAY I GO…

    Have laptop will travel! I AM OFF! I LOVE a road trip.

    While I’m on the road today,  I thought I would leave you with a site that a fellow Xangan sent to me. It is his work site and FUN… especially if you have monsters, but even if you don’t. (I goofed around quite a bit before I shared it with mine. shhh… )

    BRUCE VAN PATTER    a.k.a.   IDEAGUY   Check his Xanga too, he  is usually up to something interesting… Go say hello and tell him Ang sent you.

    This is the game he sent me… I am still trying to figure out how I can swipe the beards!

    The Cloud Game is another one I enjoy… I have a file FULL of cloud pictures it is awfully tempting to flood him with, but I will resist.

    Oh… did I mention he is a grown man who still plays with his food? If that isn’t interesting I don’t know what is!

  • DOOR and please welcome…

     My favorite uncle is trying on Xanga… Goldfinch_J…  He is into Geocaching and hunting and fishing… So I know some of you out there have those things in common with him!  Please go welcome him!

    He is the other half of Finfam2!

    x_naomi_x  has a DOOR up and some very cool pictures of her mini trip! Check it out!

    I start my road trip tomorrow! I am so excited I don’t know if I will be able to sleep!