June 27, 2008

  • Some of what I saw

    We made it home safely.

    I can’t believe how much fun we had.

    veiw from the top .jpg

    From the top of the Empire State building I saw A LOT.

    Pidgeon are you looking at me.jpg

    I also had a grand time harassing the pigeons, on our whole visit actually.

    There was probably a pigeon cry of relief when our bus left the city.

    harrassed pigeon.jpg

    When there was a possibility for a shot like this though,

    How could I NOT harass them?

    the chrysler building..jpg

    The Chrysler Building

    the rock 2.jpg

    The Rock

    laughing at reflections.jpg

    There’s a lot going on in this picture.

    I call it Laughing at Reflections.

    Newyork library door walk by.jpg

    A DOOR of course.

    This may be my favorite one of the year.

    Is it my perfect door shot? I don’t know…

    bus station floor shoes.jpg

    Just for The Green Panther a.k.a. Becky.

    Xangan feet on a dirty bus station floor.

    Just what she always wanted!

    Tomorrow I head home, I can’t believe my time is over, it’s been such a blast!

    I will be glad to get home to my Baby… umm… Babies, and get around to all of your sites and visit.

    I will try to answer all of the scrapple questions then.

    Also coming soon to a blog near you,

     specifically mine,

     Lunch at Gray’s Papaya,

     A look into the hidden life of the Xanga team,

    and

    A chat with the Citizens of NYC, stay tuned!

    SO

    Do you like what I saw?

    What is your favorite?

     

     

Comments (67)

  • Bewdyful.

    The rock for sure and the laughing at reflections.
    x

  • Lovely – especially the way you captured that door with the person passing by.  Excellent.  Glad you had soooooo much fun!!!

  • I love them all,especially the laughing manaquin!
    MAN ANG,DID WE LAUGH!!
    THANKS FOR DRIVING ALL THE WAY TO PA TO BE WITH ME,I HAD THE VERY BEST TIME AND WILL MISS YOU!

  • Did you go to Central Park? Did you visit Rice to Riches? Oh! There is so much to see in NYC! I love it there!

  • OH MY WORD!  I LOVE what you saw, and the places you went – I don’t have a favourite – it wouldn’t be fair!!!!!
    I also can’t believe its hometime already – but it will be good to have you back, and then you can catch up on the SA blogs – LOL!
    Love ya Angi, have an awesome weekend!

  • @DanishDoll - We didn’t get there. we saw it from the ESB roof though… We saw The ESB, Grand Central Station, The Waldorf Astoria Hotel, Rockafeller Plaza, Sait Barts cathedral and St. Patricks…The Helmsley building… ummm… The XANGA offices of course, a Broadway play… They were filming a moive at our hotel, we watched it all from our hotel window, We got to meet the star, Ryan Gosling, and he shook my hand. It was all amazing Doll!  The best part? I did it with a WONDERFUL friend!

  • Yes ma’am! And very very cool! It must have been so much fun! Your photos are fantastic.

  • Sounds like you made some wonderful, wonderful memories! How cool that you shook hands with a movie star!  I know there is so much to see that it would take weeks to see it all. We have been blessed because our daughter lives there. She knows where the cool stuff is, and she knows how to use the subway systems so we can get around easily. She and her husband will soon be moving to Northern Ireland, though, so we probably won’t be visiting NYC after she is gone. (No free place to crash! LOL!)  That’s OK, though, because now we will get to see Dublin, Belfast and other cool places like that!   Xanga friends are great! I hope when we are next home we can make a little trip down to Seedsower country!

  • oh beautiful shots!! my fave is the 3rd from the top, the pigeon flying with the skyscarpe scenery in the background! Thank you so much for sharing your impressions of the trip!!

  • im so sad i wasn’t there…

    but i’m glad you had fun!

  • I would love to visit the Xanga offices,  not many people can claim they have done this.

  • The chrysler building looks cool!

  • my favorite is the one with boobies

  • I like the pigeon pix. It’s amazing what all you can see from up there on top of Empire State building. I was there a few years ago and these photos bring back the memories. Sounds like your trip was packed with fun. Can’t wait to here the rest of it!

  • My we are up early today

    My favorite probably the Chrsler building oh and your feet of course.

    I wouldn’t really describe what I do as fabrication, more like zoo keeper.

  • That was a quick trip! I was going to say I liked the pigeon picture the best, but I really liked the laughing reflections one…

  • I like the first pigeon picture.  With the city in the background.  I agree how could you not harrass them with a chance for shots like that.  You are so good with that camera.  Glad you two had such a good time.  Can’t wait to read the rest of your blogs. Mary

  • I like the laughing at Reflections :)

  • that’s a great shot of the top’othe chrysler bldg !

  • I have always loved the Chrysler Building….one of my favorite spots in the NY skyline.  Beautiful shots!  I think the pigeons need a little harassing now and then to keep them in their place…..you go, girl!

  • ryc: yeah these xanga themes are a pain in the booty! :)

  • The Chrysler building is awesome!  And I love the door.  It’s got a lot of movement.  Almost like you can sense what the door sees going by it every day.  

  • The Laughing Reflections is great, and the pigeon in the closeup reminds me of Bobby from Goodfeathers.

  • WOW!  Those pictures are amazing.  Seriously.  The pigeon should win some sort of prize.  It takes an out-of-towner to capture the true beauty of that big smelly ugly wonderful town.

    BRAVO!

  • @georgiagirl052569 - Thank you! That’s what I was going for… I took so many people walking in front of that stupid door! lol They were all trying to be nice and stop so I could take the picture! lol I kept have to ask them to walk through. lol I wanted the movement and the height comparrison, so people could see how far off the groun the door was!

    Thanks J!

  • @droptop11 -  No shirt no service.  Didn’t you read the sign?

  • @Ed_Kaz - Wow Thanks ED! I amused so many people while I chased that pigion back and forth on the ledge begging it to fly… lol I also chased several around the sidewalk trying o get them to take off! I learned that It’s hard to get a picture of the pigeon flying while your chasing it. lol If you see a crazy lady on the news running in circles chasing pigeons… ummm that wasn’t me…

  • @angi1972 -   Yeah.  Pretty much the pigeons and the people keep away from each other.  So you probably freaked that one out.  But he’ll be OK.   

    Back to the pics.  What kind of camera?  Your exposures are PERFECT.  Especially THE ROCK.  Wow. 

  • @Ed_Kaz - Ed! It’s all in the editing and the composition! You know that! Although that one had very little just a little light adjustment…

    I just have a crappy middle of the line Kodak… I am looking forward to upgrading, but I have learned that a great picture comes less from the camera and more from the composition and how you as a photographer see things… You shoud see the Poloroids I took! I think they are by far my favorites… I will post them later…

  • I like “The Rock” the best. Excellent photos. Glad y’all had such a great time.

  • Thanks for your comment!  So awesome that you were in NYC–I was only in the city for one day (even though I live really close to Beth), but I LOVED it!  Especially the Empire State Building and Central Park.

  • @angi1972 -   Absolutely.  It’s all about the tools, not the fools.  (I just coined that phrase…does it even make sense?)

    edit:  No, it doesn’t make sense.

    How about, tools in the hands of fools come out decidedly not jewels.

  • I really like the door pic.  Its cool how blurred the person walking by looks.  I also love the pigeon sitting there.  We went to chicago to the sears tower and I saw this bird flying closer and closer.  I ran to meet it as it flew by the window and it was a perigrine falcon.   Apparently I wasnt the only bird watcher in the tower that day caus there was another guy yelling to his friends that he had just saw the perigrine falcon!

  • I love that footprint!  I hope you had a blast, I can’t wait to see more of your adventures :D

  • I like the two pigeon pictures together.  First he’s sitting there giving you the eye and then he decides he has better things to do and takes off.  Good stuff.  I’m really glad you’ve had such a grand time!  Peace

  • i like pigeons ::waving at ‘em::

  • I’ve never been to NYC and would love to go someday! I love all the photos!

  • fanastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! can’t wait to hear your stories.

  • Great pictures!!Glad you had a great time!

    How’s Ben going to keep you “down on the farm” now that you’ve seen the Big Apple??hehe

  • that first pigeon picture is amazing!

  • I like the one of the pigeon best. I can’t help it, but I will say it anyway. The one of the Rock looks like you are looking up her dress or whatever it is, and you can see all of her business!!!

  • My favorites are the Chrysler building and Laughing at Reflections.  The Chrysler building is one of my favorite styles of architecture, and Laughing at Reflections is just very creative, artistic and fun.  What a neat road trip you two had, what a great visit! 
    And that door picture is great, too, with the blurred figure rushing past, definitely one of your best.
    Looking forward to hearing/seeing more…
    Stephanie

  • Gray’s Papya is the best…yum!! Wish I knew you were in town! I would have taken you to places no one gets to see: Carmine’s on Water Street near the seaport…Arthur Avenue haunts in the Bronx…so glad you had a good time in my city!! ~ Jeanne

  • I like the red eyed pigeon too…… he’s saying ” hey – you – get off of my cloud” really I like all of them…..

  • I used to go to a trade show every year at the Javits Center and we always spent more time in Manhattan than we did at the trade show.  I have always enjoyed visiting NYC, but would not want to live there.

    I really like the picture of the pigeon in flight!

    There you go talking about scrapple again…you’re making me hungry!!!

  • great pics, Ang…i won’t show Laurel the pigeon pics, though…she got pooped on by one, two weeks ago…it was all i could do not to bust out laughing…i know…bad, bad Mikey…he he…tomorrows my big show…wish me luck…hugs…animal

  • I love the close up shot of the pigeon.. it looks like it’s posing for you!

    Glad you made it home safely! I’m so looking forward to more pictures.

  • You are stoking me up, I will be in NYC in a few weeks!

    I loved the laughing at reflections picture. Your enthusiasm for the subject matter is contagious!

  • these are some good photos.  and i hate pigeons, so that’s a lot coming from me.

  • that has got to be the worlds fattest pigeon. I’m amazed it could fly-it even looks like it has a double chin!

    I love all of them-I have never been to nyc, but always wanted to. maybe one day…till then I will live thru your pictures

  • @k8tthelate - Kate on the way back from PA there was a World of Pigeons store that sold real pigeons and I considered getting some for abou two minutes and then the insanity passed. lol

    That isn’t the same pigeon. lol

  • great shots all around, especially the laughing reflections!

    did you visit rockefeller cetner? i want to see the skyscraper made out of erecter set toys

  • @mercyless1 - We did! I saw it and can you believe I didn’t take a picture of it!

    The statue of the chic with the boobies… that building is right in Rockerfeller center.  We did a little walking tour of our own to all of the buildings and sites we wanted to take pictures of… it is the first time I had ever been out with another picture taking nut, I know you do it all of the time, it was wonderful! Afterwords we edited some of our pics together, it was so cool to see our different perspectives.

  • The Pigeon shots were freakin’ ace.

  • It’s an excellent door shot. I love the close up of the pigeon, too. Looks like you and your camera had a great time!

  • Love the rock!!  

    Whew!!  I almost missed this post! 

  • @mercyless1 - I should have said that IS Rockerfeller Center. I was just going through the guide book! lol It’s bad when you go through the book AFTER you’ve done the trip. lol

  • Looks like you had a great time!

  • whose wing are you under?

  • @apyus - What do you mean?

  • @angi1972 - la la la la la la

  • Looks like the perfect trip!!! I cannot wait to see more photos!!!! I know you had fun with Beth but your guys will be happy to have you home too! Safe travels as you head home!!! 

  • I love all of the pictures! However, I think my favorite is the bird flying away, it has such depth.

  • Those were some amazing shots!! My fave would have to be the feet shot. I dunno why, it just seemed to me like the end of a long journey. My feet are tired and here you go, let’s take a picture for all your hard work. LOL. Don’t ask.

  • i love Chrysler building!!!  Great shot!

  • What a fun trip!  I like all of the photos!  The big fat angry pigeon who was plotting your death is a classic! 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *