November 25, 2007

  • Today I am pondering the year. I managed to achieve my resolutions.

    Which were…

    1.) This year I will avoid setting myself on fire.

    2.) This year I will not shoot, cut or maim myself or someone else, in any way intentionally… Hey accidents happen.

    I guess technically I still have a month to try and make sure these things don’t happen but I’m sure I can make it.

    I’m not sure I achieved anything off of my life list this year though.

    • I tried teaching myself the piano. I didn’t get very far, so I will have to reexamine how to go about that.
    • There was almost no traveling to speak of other then locally, but that isn’t a bad thing. The traveling will be there and eventually I will get to it.
    •  I started selling my glass work and photographs and have plans to expand on that.
    •  I think I have done good so far and on top of it all, the kids are all still alive and kicking. At least they haven’t done any permanent damage to each other.

    So I guess I did manage a couple off the life list. Not bad.

    All in all it hasn’t been a horrible year. I will be happy for the good things and for surviving all of the bad things.

    How was your year?

     

Comments (25)

  • ROFL!!  love last year’s resolutions girlie!! 

    as for my year, i swore to myself that i would lose a little weight and get back in shape.  well…  didn’t do so good on those two resolutions.  i think for this coming year, i am going to resolve to not forget to breath.  that one, i stand a MUCH better chance of keeping!  tee hee

  • You DO realize you still have a month left right??? LOL

    I got rid of my luterous (uterus)

    I didn’t kill or mame anyone when I was planning a wedding for my daughter… and the hormones from said surgery were going nuts.

    Everybody is seeming to move back in and bring more… and I have survived…

  • Don’t ask.

  • The avoidance of self-immolation is always a plus! ;-D

  • RYC…I’m making homemade pasta sauce and as for the John Irving book…one of my customers gave it to me. If you would like to read it I’ll send it your way when I’ve finished it.

    I didn’t set any goals for myself for this year…but next year I have a plan.

  • ryc… I’m glad you can accept my viewpoint on it as a positive. I could never get into the “it’s a sin” concept. If deity (God, Yahweh, Allah, Goddess, Bob, whomever) is truly a force of love and compassion, then how could there be a “punishment” for that sort of despair? The “old-school” view never made sense to me!

  • i kinda of met one of my goals, which ewasn’t really a goal for this year, but a goal to complete before i turn forty and that was to run a marathong.

    i like your ressolutions from last year. LOL!

  • Learning the piano is an aggressive goal for one year.

  • So far, so good on my year. I’ve survived. That’s enough some years…

  • I started out as a drug addicted smart mouth. Then had an (mis)adventure in Daytona. Drove a semi-truck for four and a half months during summer all over the South part of North America. Lived out of a truck for a few days. Moved back home after getting kicked out and having nowhere else to go but the poor house. Got teh GED. Decided to hit the Navy sometime early next year. Wrote some stuff on xanga. Turned Nineteen. And wrote some more stuff, then nonsense on xanga.

    Whatta year.

  • How was my year?  Rapid change. 

  • I don’t do this till new year’s eve but I will think about it.

  • I won’t worry about fire,shooting or cutting accidentally unless I was a surgeon or a fireman.  That is odd -did you do it last year or something?

  • Oh my.. the year is almost over. Weird.

  • I’ve coped, with singledom, being a lone mother, divorce, sexual resistance to someone who could have lead me down an awful path (yet again), juggling home, my dog and my finances and on top, I’ve started part time work too. I’d say it’s been a pretty good year.

  • Not setting oneself on fire is a good thing.
    Tough year for me, but so far I have yet to go AHHHH thump out of a tree. (not counting my tumble into the hole in Itasca or the rib thing) Still have a couple weeks of black powder to go and maybe a coyote trip or two but things are looking up.
    Mostly its been a tough year due to family, way way way to much time at local hospital with Mom, Dad and Trusty.

  • Yeah, you wanna stay away from that setting yourself on fire thing… Other than that, it’s an open field.

  • I have to take piano lessons with my niece to help her practice,she doesn’t get it until we go over and over AND OVER it so I had to start  going to classes with her
    I did enter three in the Candid children today,very nice ones! One of the new baby I hope places!
    I miss you too,I am making dishtowel angel at night with old movies on and wreaths during the day.
    Loves ya~~~

  • I had a list for the last four days off work. I think I did one of them. Good for you!

  • LOL love those resolutions…”intentionally” LOL…This is the first year in a while I didn’t make any specific resolutions…just made a general one to try to do better this year than I did the year before…think I achieved that…Not sure what this one will bring…Rainy

  • Congrats on even having a list!!!  My trip was the big one for me this year.  I was beginning to worry it wasn’t going to happen there for awhile….I’m grateful it did!  I think I’ll add “glassworks” to my list for ’08 – you inspire me!  Peace

  • Ah…could have been better….looking forward to the new year for real!

    Later,

    Gina

  • Try to be a better person, so far so so!

  • congrats on your year… congrats on your resolutions for the next one! I am proud of the amount of energy you seem to have, must come from having the three charming ones to be looked after and see grow. And then, well, 1972 was a good breeding year for quality items, which you confirm. Teach yourself the piano? Aw, I try to teach myself good manners and don’t seem to reach any goals…

  • I like your first 2 resolutions. Those form part of my standing resolution to do no harm to others or myself. Unfortunately, being a guy, I fail at that from time to time :)

    My wife and daughter play the piano. We have an old one in our basement. I’ve resolved to play some simple songs on it but that will have to wait until 2009 I’m afraid.

    My main goal is to survive another year and have a significant positive impact on at least one other person besides myself.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *