November 24, 2007

  • thanksgiving geocaching 021.jpg

    GEOCACHING

    Or yesterday you could have defined it as

    CRAZY people wading through the snow.

    My little sister is almost to her 1000th cache.

    So naturally if I wanted to spend time with her that is what I was doing.

    She knows I like it.

    thanksgiving geocaching 037.jpg

    This is what the Bay looked like when we set out yesterday.

    It did clear up eventually and was beautiful.

    Part of the reason I enjoy geocaching with D  so much is because I love going for drives.

    When we were younger we would load up the car and just drive.

    We didn’t always go anywhere, sometimes we just traveled back roads.

    We were never in a hurry and if we saw something interesting we would stop.

    I saw so many enjoyable things that way and learned so much.

    I miss that.

    It seems most travel I do these days is from point A to point B.

    What’s your favorite way to travel?

Comments (24)

  • I guess on horseback

    what is this word? geo? is it like we call cruising?

    I like the photo and we had snow in Tx. but it melted and it only snowed for about 5minutes and it was 80 one day and the next 30 degrees so the ground was too hot.lol

  • I love to travel by foot…. and near water…I never heard of this past time but it seems a fun way to pass time. great pictures.

  • Hi, lovely photos….looks like more snow then we got yesterday.

  • driving is the best!!!!
    When I was a small child I had terrible sleep problems. The only way that she could get me to fall asleep was to pack me up in the car in my jammies and my blanket, then drive me around for about an hour until I fell asleep. Even now driving relaxes me. (thankfully it doesn’t put me to sleep now) It is my favorite way to travel.

  • Drive,drive,drive….a roadtrip is the best!!!!

  • yes, but what IS geocaching??
    my favourite way to travel…horseback.

  • I like car trips that start out at dark:30!

  • I love to just take a drive like what you said. Of course, in the last couple of years, Doug and I like going on the motorcycle..

    Love your pictures! Snow… those were so pretty! Just don’t get any like that down here in ds swamps of Southeastern La…

  • used to love to fly !   not any more, it just is a large pain in the ass.  really like to drive now.

  • If you happen to have a Facebook account and would like to join in, please come to “Dan’s Surprise Party.” Click on “Events” and then type in “Dan’s Surprise Party” in the search box. Please feel free to invite friends. He seems to be rather excited for a party.

  • Thanks for asking, yeah tomorrow we rest, drive over to Minnesota to hang out with some old  family friends. Nap on someone elses couch!

  • Road trips are the most fun…, but some places I love require airline, so I am torn. I just love to travel… awesome photos of the snow.
    Hugs, Tricia

  • wow, gorgeous photo! no snow at our bay…amen to that, lol!

  • that link explained it and there is a whole world out there doing it and here I never even knew about it and it looks like fun if you’re young.lol

  • I want snow!!! Alas, I now live in the South; and it is more than a little unlikely. Sigh.

    I just like to travel, in general; but I especially enjoy boats. I love to sit on the deck or stand at the rail and watch the shore and the sea (or lake).

    I do agree that geocaching is crazy people tromping around in the snow or woods or whatever; but I’m glad you enjoyed the time with your sister. That’s the important part. Craftealady is into geocaching too… perhaps she & your sister should say hello!?

  • I like to look at snow but not deal with it.  Thanks for the picture. 

  • Once again gorgeous! It used to be by plane but not anymore. I would say by car with a good friend.

    RYC: Thank you very much. I did all the design and layout. I don’t illustrate but I do create imagery like on the last card and I do photograph. I took the picture of my ex roommate’s daughter and did all the art layout on top.

  • Back roads, definitely!!

  • Me to! Point A to Point B! When the kids were small we drove around a lot all over Chicago and lower Wis. I miss those days!

  • i wanna come play in the snow!!!  my favorite way to travel?  i love long trips in the car…. where time is not neccasarily a factor and where we can pull off and stop when ever we see something interesting.  long, slow road trips can be a wonderful way to spend time with my kids and get to know them a little more….  as long as we can keep the “are we there yet” questions to a minimum!  tee hee!!!

  • Best way to travel? as a non driver, I’d have to say by car. As a passenger I can just sit back, relax and enjoy the sights, the music and the conversation. Thanks for posting the snowy bay pic. I’d never seen snow near a beach or large expanse water until tonight. Thanks!

  • Well on the water of course, wow you guy got a lot more snow then we did. 

  • philosophical travel for sure, and sometimes bicycle.

  • I always enjoy your pictures!!!!  I’ve said that before, but thereya go.  Dirt roads.  They’re the best.  Peace

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *