Month: September 2007

  • DEEP THOUGHTS… Seriously

    If you would not be forgotten as soon as you are dead and rotten,either write something worth reading or do things worth the writing. ~ Benjamin Franklin

    I won’t go near the idea of an after life and heaven tonight. It’s too late and there are too many veiws and opinions. What I do want to say is that, we are often in the hearts and minds of those we leave behind, whether we are dead and gone or at the grocery store doesn’t matter… what matters is what we give them to remember what we give them to hold on to… I want to leave behind good things… don’t you?

  • fun with fungus and random stuff

    hattrickone.jpg

    mushroomone.jpg

    caching with D&sam 022.jpg

    light bulb 4.jpg dark charcoal.jpg

    Just hangin around today… playing with photoshop some more.

     

  • THE HUNT

    1.) A picture of yourself doing something silly… This was filed under never to see the light of day!

    silly me.jpg Crossing my eyes and doing a fake nose pick… Top that one!

     

     

     

    I don’t know why but in my family the fake nose pick has always been the go to goofy pose.

    *EDIT* Looking at this picture reminds me… I was helping one of the old ladies when I was giving my talk the other day… she looked at my hands and said “I thought you’d have delicate little hands to do such fine work, but your hands are big and clunky just like mine!”

    Thanks a lot lady.

     

     

     

     

     

     

    2.)A copy of the book Bored of the Rings. We do own a couple of copies but It would have been a lot of work for Ben to unbox them so… Google it is.

    Bored of the Rings (Gollancz)We have the first edition copy this is a bit newer.

    3.)A picture of a bearded lady. I have so many of these it isn’t funny. I actually did see a lady at a restaurant the other day who had a beard and mustache but you could tell she was a bit embarrassed about it, she was talking to someone and the whole time she had her hands around her face trying to hide it. I didn’t think IF I went up and asked to take her picture she would have found it flattering. No I did not stare.

    So I’ll post this one.bearded barronss

    You know so many of you have asked me why I like bearded ladies… I don’t know, I just do. When we go to paper and book shows I love to look through the card and photo sections searching for them.

    Well them and fat ladies!

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    4.)Local graffiti…

    I was hoping to go take pictures BUT since I don’t feel like leaving the house. For whatever reason I am feeling very antisocial but a little manic. It’s great since I have been cleaning house. So I thought I would post my favorite local vandalism and graffiti… some of you who have been my friends for awhile have seen these already.

    damage...jpg This is what t used to say. Before the tourist season this year they fixed it.

    It did say Cass in brass letters…

     

     

     

     

    Now this is what it says.

    about tc 123.jpg

     

     

     

    Yes… my town is FULL of clever people… well, FULL of IT anyway.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    #5) A giant cement animal.

    giant cock.jpg There are a bunch of them in this area… This is my favorite for the obvious joke that it inspires… Yes, I have the humor of a twelve year old boy… You should ALL know this about me by now.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    #6) Something I consider to be a work of ART…

    OH Where do I begin! There is art for me in everything… I think all shapes and things have an element to enjoy.

    MY Best works are these…

    dinner at Old Mission 023

    They inspire me, they are constantly challenging me and they give me deep feelings of JOY, SORROW, CONFUSION, LOVE, and more.

    Ever changing, ever growing and expanding and becoming more. Always wonderful, even when they aren’t… they will forever be my BEST WORK…

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    #7) litter of kittens.

    Cooper and I were going to hit the Humane Society today but I was not brave enough… I don’t want to walk in and fall in love with something and bring it home. I am in such a I need a dog mood… and really I DON”T NEED A DOG… I might want one now but I really, really don’t. lol

    SO no kittens here!

    #8.) A clown

    Hmmm… I know I have clowns in my files somewhere, but I can’t find them. SO… will Cooper undie head do?

    cooper undie head NO? Hey… he is a clown when he wants to be…

     

     

     

     

     

    My Lil sister is scared of clowns… she wasn’t when we were younger, it’s just something that has developed over time… SO I found a picture just for her that makes me understand WHY she would be afraid of clowns.

    Boy That is creepy…

    #9) a grandfather clock…

    Okay… I love this clock.

    #10)A guitar…

    You know I used to hang out with guys who played guitar… I traded them in for a piano man.

    SO… here is my piano man…

    ben piano warm grain I could google a guitar but  this is better.

     

     

     

     

     

     

    #11) Gothic teens…

    zoo tri[p 399 Okay they aren’t teens… and gothic is questionable… they are definitely bad A**s…

    Funny about this picture. I had a camera that wasn’t great… we were at the Detroit zoo and I asked these guys if I could take their picture… afterward I asked my husband and brother in law if it was bad that I asked to take their picture… when I got home the picture was dark and hadn’t turned out…
    THIS picture was taken a year later… at the reptile house in Detroit… I went up to them and asked to take their picture and when I left I asked my husband and the people we were with if it was rude that I asked to take their picture… This time it turned out…

    HOW weird is that, that these SAME guys were in the same place at the same time I was… I guess I was meant to take their picture… So it may not be worth points, but it one of my favorite pictures of rebels against conformity.

    LAST- a fellow xangan and a link to their account…

    Isabelle's b-day 010.jpg My MOM AND POP!!!

    Martysrose and FishermanTC

    Of course neither of them POST!!!! GRRRR…

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    And the last thing was a picture of me… or John… I haven’t come up with bribery material for him yet… and no one has tried to bribe me… what’s that about? I was hoping for some good ones…

    Ah well… I don’t think anyone else took up the challenge yet, so I guess that means I’m winning… time will tell!

    ***********************************EDIT****************************************

    Carpus06 Has completed the hunt! She has way more points then I do! ! Check her out!

  • UGH!

    Did  say TODAY was scavenger hunt day? How am I supposed to do a hunt when I don’t feel like leaving the house?

  • SCAVENGER HUNT!!!

    Just a way to pass the time for anyone who wants to play, Gunstarhero1988 and I have put together a little game.

    Mostly to amuse ourselves, but hopefully you will find it fun too!

    Here is the list

    • a  picture of yourself doing something amusing-silly
    • a copy of the book Bored of the Rings
    • a picture of a bearded lady
    • local graffiti
    • a giant cement animal
    • something YOU consider to be a work of art
    • a litter of kittens
    • a clown 
    • a grandfather clock
    • a guitar
    • gothic teenagers (extra points if they are smoking)
    • a fellow Xangan and a link to their account.
    • A picture of the Gunstarhero or Angi1972 is worth many, many points… (we are both receptive to bribes.)

    Find as many of these things as you can and post pictures of them on your site by midnight Friday night.

    We will be linking the participants as they join the game all day Friday and on Saturday! 

     We will be posting our pictures too! No swiping pictures from other peoples posts!

    Try to find your own original items. The search is most of the fun after all.

    The game is afoot!!!!

    ANG

     


     

  • Feeling better… I think… yeah, pretty sure, um…

    Cooper and I went and had lunch with my Honey today.

    I felt a little better after that.

    Things are still questionable though.

    The colors are getting so beautiful here.

    I only stopped for two shots on the way home though.

    This one.

    barns 016.jpg

    The barn is still a bit too dark I think. I just can’t get the light right on this one because it keeps bouncing off the roof. UGH… It has now become a mission to get it right!

    This one.

    barns 003.jpg

    I had to stand on the bumper of the car to get it.

    I was to tired to walk into the bushes and look for a better angle so this is the one I took.

    I’ll go back on another day and see if I can make it better too.

    Thank for all of the very nice thoughts guys.

    I think I did get it from you Beth   I AM KIDDING!

    Be safe.

    Gunstarhero1988 and I have been working on something fun…

    bringing it to you tomorrow!

     

  • Feeling ill today. Don’t get to close to the computer screen… I don’t want to give it to anyone.

  • Link edition

    I thought I would take a page from my friend thenarrator and do a linking tour through what I found of interest today.

    BB61 takes us to The Devil’s Den. mlbncsga shares my love of a good road trip and teaches me a word I plan on using a lot “suvate!” Streetphotos doesn’t mess with farmers’.fauquet celebrates a friends life. My hubbies favorite cartoon strip lately I love when he reads it to me.(He does the voices. shhh…don’t tell him I told you.)

    That was fun! I might have to try that again sometime.

    dandilion4.jpg

    dandilion1.jpg

    What do you think?

    Critiques, please… Ben and I each like a different one. I’m interested in which you guys like!

    I’m not telling which I chose yet. :-b

    **********************EDIT********************

    papi-pablo has found a way to cure your annoying little problems.

     

  • birchrun clouds barn4.jpg

    It’s been a long day.

    Went to my Great Aunt’s Funeral.

    Three hours there, three hours back.

    I only took two pictures, somehow I just wasn’t in the mood.

    The one thing I’ve noticed about funeral luncheons…

    the casseroles are always questionable but the desert tables are full of gooey brownies and yummy cakes…

    I guess there’s nothing like desert for comfort, unless its family and friends to eat it with.

    Sorry, I’m just really tired.

    Ang

     

  • HAPPY 80th Gram!

    My Grandma turned 80 last week so my Mom and Aunt Mary threw a party!

    beautiful smile.jpg

    Of course there was a ton of food and people.

    grandmas 80 230.jpg

    and a gospel bluegrass band

    grandmas 80 299.jpg grandmas 80 296.jpg

    It was a very nice day.
    I got smart and hired one of my teenage cousins to follow the babies around

    So my sister and I could just enjoy.

    I have to say if that was what having a nanny is like I WANT ONE!

    When the band  said “This is your 60th right Dolly!”

    She responded with “DON’T you do that to me! The good thing about being this old is every year is a step closer to Heaven. I don’t want to go back…”

    That’s my Grandma.

    It was a good day.

    Hope you guys are enjoying yours!