September 24, 2007

  • birchrun clouds barn4.jpg

    It’s been a long day.

    Went to my Great Aunt’s Funeral.

    Three hours there, three hours back.

    I only took two pictures, somehow I just wasn’t in the mood.

    The one thing I’ve noticed about funeral luncheons…

    the casseroles are always questionable but the desert tables are full of gooey brownies and yummy cakes…

    I guess there’s nothing like desert for comfort, unless its family and friends to eat it with.

    Sorry, I’m just really tired.

    Ang

     

Comments (23)

  • Sorry to hear about your Great Aunt. Six hours of driving is a lot for one day. You are right about the luncheon food – it’s always nice and comforting, a simple ritual when we can’t do much else.

  • I’m sorry about your Aunt. I hope you feel better soon.

  • Sorry to hear about your aunt.  Sending lots of love your way.

  • Oh weird, I just went to a Great-uncle’s funeral, it was 2 hours each way we managed to get there and back in time to drop off and pick up my daughter from school, so it was good. Sorry to hear you had to go through it, too. Love the barn picture.

    Hope you get some rest. Hurry up, though, I posted a lot of pictures today that need your comments.

  • my sincere sympathy to you. gooey brownies and yummy cakes work for me !

  • my deepest condolences and sympathy to you and yours…

  • That’s a beautiful barn picture ~ I’m sorry about your Great Aunt.

  • I came to see how you are,sorry that you are so tired,funerals drain me too,I hope that you feel sunagain soon.
    Love you!!!

  • Oh Angi……..that Barn turned out beautifull……..YOU have a great eye. baby girl…Lov Ya MOM………..

  • Sorry to hear about your Great Aunt. 

  • Certainly NO APOLOGIES neccessary.  Sorry about your great aunt, glad you made it to the funeral though!
    HUGS for you Angi!

  • Sorry about your Aunt.  I am so sorry for your family and their loss.  I still get upset over all the funerals I have been to .  Everytime I go there is nasty lasagne and a bunch of people I didnt know before.   You have nothing to apologize for.  I still get teary eyed over all the losses I have had.   It takes time for your heart to absorb it all.   You take a few days and then say what you feel.   We will listen for sure.

    {{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{HUGGGIES}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

  • If you ever need to talk msg me and I will give you my cell number.

  • Now that you mention it, when we went to my husband’s grandmother’s funeral; we had an awful lot of sweets.

    (big hugs)

  • Hope you are rested and feeling good today!

  • Hugs to you, sweetie.
    Sorry about your great aunt.
    Funny you mentioned the food. Okay, not really funny….I was wondering about that, when Steve has passed, do I invite people to the house? Do I feed them?
    This is all so new to me, plus we don’t have any family here, and no friends, really.

    Ugh…
    Anyway, was hoping to cheer you up. Yeah, great job. *insert heavy dose of sarcasm*

    *hugs*

  • Hard day ! Please accept my condolences , Ang . The heart is heavy at those moments .
    The photo of the barn and the field has something peaceful .
    Love
    Michel

  • I agree with fauquet… I call those brownies and gooey stuff “comfort food” nothings better except as you said “unless its family and friends to eat it with.” I think you deserve a break so you can rest up Ang! Take care of yourself…..hugs to ya!

  • Sorry to hear about your great aunt.  I would imagine 6 hours of driving would tire you out.  the barn pic was great.

  • Nothing to sap the soul than a family loss and funeral. The barn pic is very nice though. Take cae and rest up lady. You sound like you need it. *huge hugs*

  • I’m sorry to hear of the reason for the journey, but road trips are restorative. I’ve never gotten the hang of American funeral food. Especially those little ham sandwiches.

  • Sorry to hear about the death. That is a pretty barn. I saw the apples in another blog. Reminds me of my grandmother’s apple trees.

  • I’m sorry to hear about your loss. ((hugs))

    Casseroles always make me nervous– I hate guessing what is in them!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *