June 28, 2007

  • It’s that time of year again.

    cabinet doors 015.jpg

    Traverse City is the cherry capital.

    I think it is a title that they gave themselves so,

    It is what it is.

    cabinet doors 016.jpg

    What that means is July 5th will be the first day of Cherry Festival

    You will be seeing lots of parade and pie eating contest pictures.

    Pictures from everything that my little sister will drag us too.

    I, of course will be unwilling to go.

    Tomorrow I am going to The Stained Glass Cabinet Company to talk to the owner about carrying some of my work on commission.

    Wish me luck!

    I had to get pictures of things I have done to take with me so here is a set of cabinet doors

    I designed for some very close friends of our family.

    In return I got my work benches and a light table. It was a very good deal.

    For me and I’d like to think for them too.

    cabinet doors 012.jpg cabinet doors 013.jpg

    cabinet doors 014.jpg

    cabinet doors 011.jpg

    There are four doors, Two that are the solid with the borders and two that are branches.

    The branch on the other door comes down from the right side instead of the left.

    Can you tell cherries are a very popular theme in this area?

    OK So wish me luck. I’m off to sell my wares.

    Until tomorrow.

    beach 004.jpg

     

Comments (33)

  • Thanks, I just hope she learns to chill. D:

    Wow, you’re really good with the stained glass. Hope you make lots of sales.

  • Those are beautiful stained glass panes!! I don’t think you’ll need luck, they are so nice, but I will be sending all sorts of positive vibes (and how ’bout if I say a little prayer?).

    RYC about those croc flip-flops – the blisters were between my toes and on the bottoms of my feet. I’ll still give those a shot though!

  • Good luck, honey! Do you ever check in with GeorgiaGirl0526? She does stained glass too, with her sister, PrissyMimi. Your work is beautiful too!

    I remember GOING to the Traverse City cherry festival thingie one year as a child! I only remember it clearly because they were making the world’s largest cherry pie (for the Guinness Book of Records) that year; and I was amazed that it actually tasted good too. I’ve never had a cherry pie taste that good since; but I keep trying… LOL!

  • Those doors are gorgeous! I wish I could have good cabinets to get a set or two for our kitchen!

  • You guys have the neatest stuff there!

  • Hey Ang, I concur with all of the above.  Stained glass is a lost art, and a very good secret kept by two of the coolest mothers I know, namely mine, and well you.  For Christmas, she went with gingerbread (for frame) and powdered rock candy (for colour) and sheet of tin foil.  The result are cookies to hang on the tree that are too pretty to eat.  How she does it, I don’t know but it makes a little sence to me.  Enjoy the festival, it sounds like fun.

  • Oh how I wish I had some of those cherries!  I love them and your pics show them off so nicely.  I’m wishing you tons of good luck pushing the stained glass!  You do beautiful work.  I also love the last pictures of the kiddos – wow!  Peace

  • you do such awesome work ! i am so jealous :)

  • Wow that is just beautiful work!!  I love cherries I could eat them all day long until I had intestinal problems hehehe…ryc: yeah that train ride was somthing else, I will never forget it but next time I go on a long trip I will go by plane :)

  • Wow those are beautiful! and good luck on your commissioning. Maybe the commissioning commmissioner is handing out luck!

  • Awesome pics lady!!! 

  • So gorgeous! You don’t need luck is right, you are gifted! Here’s a bunch of blessings and prayers. The fix is in, you got it girl!

  • OMG!!! I LOVE CHERRIES!!! YUMM!!!!

    I’m so going to that cherry festival thing next year!!! LOL!!!

    those doors are beautiful!!! that’s all I can say, beautiful!!

    ttfn…

  • That is so neat! You don’t need any luck, they’ll be lcuky to meet you!

  • Heh, going to bed now. Just took an online IQ test and my IQ ranges from 110 and 120. Not too shabby for a white boy that didn’t pay attention to most of the questions.

  • You are such a talented lady. Those glass panels are beautiful and I wish you the best of luck in selling your wares! That sounds so bad…LOL. You have an eye for photography, the cherries look so damn appetising! Have a great weekend.

  • Talent personfied. Beautiful. I adore cherries.

  • Wow. I am impressed! And just why WOULDN’T they want to sell your wares for a commission?? Let me know how it goes!!

  • the doors are beautiful!  wishing you the best with the Stained Glass Cabinet Company today. 

  • I’m not in Michigan anymore. I spent 7 years in Ann Arbor, but I’ve been gone for 3 years now (and currently in Tampa, FL).

    I love Northern Michigan . . .

  • One of three things I love about Michingan, My wife, peaches and cherries in the summer! Everything growing up, someone from our town would always take orders and go get a van load. It was the highlight of the summer!

    Your work is awesome!

  • Very nice work Angi! I hope all went well at the dealer. Beautiful work. This weekend is our Peach festival. You see them everywhere! Stained glass is a sore subject in our community right now. We are building a new church and had new windows installed ( by donations ) about 10 years ago. Yep they don’t want to use all the stained glass. I have no idea what the out come will be!

  • That’s a great picture of the kids!!  And nice glass work, too :)   Good luck with the selling and have a good weekend!

  • OMG!!  They are GORGEOUS!!!!  You don’t need any luck selling your wares!!!  You are quite talented and should make a fortune selling those!!!

    The Cherry Festival sounds like a blast .. I wish I could come .. mmmm cherry pie!!!  Have a great weekend!! Alicia

  • When I was in highschool, I bought a brand new 1951 2 door hard top chvy. I started saving my money at 8 years of age so I could have a car in highschool. I paid cash for it in my junior year. I found some hanging ceramic red cherries that I hung on the rear-window mirror of the car.  I got lots of comments about them. I thought they were pretty.

    frank

  • Gorgeous work! Do you sell any of it on a web site? Probably too much of a problem shipping huh? If the owner of the company is smart, he’ll show your work. Good luck.

  • Who knows?  The pics of you and your kids on the beach make it look pretty fun.

    how did it go at the Stained Glass Company?

  • Wow– talent!

    Tell us, are you going to be in the pie-eating contest?

  • I’ve been buying cherries at our local Farmer’s Market each Sunday…love the stained glass work, BEAUTIFUL!!

  • that last picture of the kids is awsome!!!! it could be captioned “Life is just a bowl of cherries” which I also love (cherries I mean) kids too….have a great weekend

  • hi Ang….ryc…lol…he he he ….aint i a stinker?…love the doors…you rock!!!l!!!….looking forward to meeting you guys, when you can make it to Chicago…let me know, in advance, so i can plan….hugs….animal

  • Wow– you are so talented!! That glass is amazing!  I love Festivals!  I wanna go to the Cherry one!!

    PS– The last photo is my favorite!!

  • I just looked all your last entries before I make my translations (a lot of of work ! About a travell in America 1905) and I LOVE your sherries-windows sooooooooo much ! I can’t imagine ! They are absolutely wonderful !

    Have a great day

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *