Month: May 2007

  • Cooper and I were out and about today.

    Big Kauhuna.jpg

    We were taking pictures from the dock and Cooper was begging to go on the boat.

    After talking to the man a bit and finding out he knew my Pop from fishing circles.

    I let cooper take a quick walk on the deck. B kept asking if I was sure I didn’t want to come aboard. It wasn’t until I was walking back to the car and he yelled “Come back anytime.” That I realized he had been hitting on me… In a very nice, friendly way… Still who hits on a woman with a toddler? Especially when she looks like a bum in shorts and a tshirt dirty with little Oreo cookie hand prints on it. I guess some men just like low maintenance women. 

    brighter dingy 2.jpg

    waiting ship.jpg out for the day.jpg

    resort town.jpg

    I live in a resort town.

    Right now it feels like everything is waiting.

    bay watch 034.jpg

    babies.jpg

    Not these guys though.

    bay watch 011.jpg

    Cooper and I had a very nice day.

     

     

  • I have nothing to say today. I hate that.

  • I am so tired today… I hate it.

    Over the weekend I pulled the brilliant stunt of slamming my eye into the arm of an office chair. Now it looks like I have eye shadow on one eye… and every time I touch my eyebrow it hurts.

    I know your saying SO don’t touch your eyebrow… Well I’m not doing it on purpose… I forget and then wham, pain.

    GEMS from Isabelle.

    In predinner conversation the other day the kids and I were talking about school and I mentioned that I hope to go back to school some day soon…

    Isabelle says. “Why? So you can finish your degree in map folding?”

    It took me a minute to figure out what she meant. When I stopped laughing I had to explain it to her… Boy did I get a dirty look and a disgusted “MOMMMMM.”

     She collects maps from rest stops on our road trips and always wants me to refold them. I have told her a few times that I never got my degree in map folding…

    All of that good sarcasm, wasted… 

      I hope the little man takes a nap soon so I can take one… They should make Tylenol PM for kids… nah, probably not a good idea.

  • Our day isn’t even half over and already we had a full one.

    Started by meeting my family for breakfast and saying good bye t my Lil Sis and the Sam man.

    They were headed back to Detroit.

    Our trip for a boat ride was foiled because something is wrong with Pop’s boat
    I’m sure it will be quickly fixed though, It’s that time of year and Pop without a boat is like a fish without water.

    So we went to the cemeteries to visit.

    On the way we made a quick stop in Elk Rapids.

    memorial day 036.jpg

    I love that my children humor me.

    When we were done with our visits we went to a great junk shop.

    memorial day 050.jpg

    Yes it is literally a junk shop. It’s always hit and miss as to when it will be open.

    memorial day 047.jpg memorial day 045.jpg

    I bought some insulators for a dollar each so that I can put them on copper pipes in the herb garden.

    Like he did here with broom sticks.

    insulators.jpg

    What do you think?

    What kind of funky yard stuff do you have? or like?

    On the way home I noticed my Sister’s car on the side of the road.

    I knew what she was doing immediately. Yup, she was getting a cache.

    How could we not join her?

    memorial day 060.jpg

    She found it and then was nice enough to let the kids look, Charlie found it first.

    Unfortunately, the cache was in a swamp and I was wearing flip flops

    This is yet again an example of how D and I are night and day.

    She is ALWAYS prepared…

    memorial day 063.jpg

    See prepared and stylish.

    She has thee pairs… when I visit next time she may be down to two… hehehe

    Since we were in the swamp already Ben and the kids collected some critters for the water garden.

    We brought home four but there were tons there, it made me feel good to see all of them.

    memorial day 051.jpg memorial day 053.jpg

    Our water garden is coming together, now if the lilies will just root.

    We once again said goodbye to my Sis.

    Then on the way home we passed this.  A wonderful and sad reminder of what day it is.

    feild of flags2.jpg

    It is a field of flags… put up by The Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa Chippewa indians. I think there is one flag for each member of the Tribe who has served and died in service of our country.

    There were about three times the amount of flags that I have in the photo above.

    There are lights situated around the field and I’m sure that tonight it will be lit up.

    I bet that will be beautiful.
    Happy Memorial day.

    THANK YOU to all of the Veterans and their families.

    **************************************edit*********************************

    GEOCACHING

    http://www.geocaching.com/faq/

    The joke is that geocaching is when you use millions of dollars worth of satalites…

    to find a piece of tupperware in the woods.

     

     

  • So… the weekend has been going really well here so far. Friday night Charlie and Is spent the night at Grandma and Grandpa’s house so the next morning Ben and I took Cooper out to breakfast at Rounds.

    breakfast at rounds 023.jpg For three of us breakfast was sixteen dollars and that was with the tip, so the prices are good . The griddle cakes are WONDERFUL and the rhubarb pie… mmmm…

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    breakfast at rounds 022.jpg

    Rounds is one of the last lunch counter restaurants in the area, if not THE last. I don’t know that for sure though so don’t quote me on it.

    The customers are a varied bunch, there was an older couple planning a vacation home occupying the booth next to us, and a bum at the counter when we came in taking advantage of an endless cup.

    Oh… And they serve corned beef and cabbage every Tuesday… I have NO idea why…

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    breakfast at rounds 014.jpg Cheap entertainment. Cooper napkin head… this reminds me of Cooper undie head… My son just likes putting things on his head, what can I say.

     

    Oh… check out his reflection in the table. I thought that was cool.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    breakfast at rounds 009.jpg

    Cooper and I were messing around at the counter taking pictures when in walked Mr.Gee. Right away he asked if we were from the area to which my response was yes and of course I know who you are!

    If you have lived in Traverse city most of your life and attended any number of Cherry Festivals at all You would know who this man is. He has been a part of The National Cherry Festival here for fifty four years, serving in different capacities. I remember him MCing our Band competition during the festival,  hosting parades, and grand marshaling , to any number of other things.

    He said that this year they will have a stand situated on the corner of Front and Union for all of the parades so that he can tell stories about the area and buildings and occasionally a funny embarrassing one about the people in the parade. I can’t wait to find a spot as close as I can.

     

    So that was Saturday… So far it’s been a great holiday weekend.

    Hope all of yours are going as well. Ang

  • kite beach angi pics 053.jpg

    Ben and I went book shopping the other day and saw this guy in the parking lot… he was patiently waiting. If I were his owner I’d be tempted to leave him a paper with writing on it… something like…

    Help I’ve locked myself in…

    What do you think his sign should say?

    It’s slow on Xanga… I need to entertain myself somehow…

    You guys can help. ;-b

    Ang

  • There are so many things in life that make me happy.

    I am a lucky girl.

    What makes you happy?

    Seedsower did a post on things that make her happy and I was going to too…

    But there are too many.

    Her posts make me happy.

    Ang

    Just in case there is one person out there who hasn’t heard this song… 

  • Random Junk About ME

    “Rules”After posting these rules, each player proceeds to list 8 relatively random facts/habits about himself/herself. At the end of the post, the player then tags 8 people and posts their names, leaving them a comment on their blogs to let them know.

    I have been tagged by Meg…

    1. I hate sitting with my back towards a door. I will not do it if I am in a restaurant… The only place this doesn’t bug me is the movie theater. I suppose it’s that mental justification thing…  for example…
    2. When I was a kid I hated putting my head under the covers. I still do. I had a very active imagination, as all children do. I would imagine that if I wasn’t covered by a blanket that a monster would cut off the exposed part of me… I some how prefaced this with an except for my head…
    3. I love looking at THINGS. I just enjoy it. I don’t need to own them, or even really want them. I just like looking at stuff. I think this comes from being dragged to countless flea markets and antique stores when I was a child.
    4. I laugh when I am nervous, which sometimes makes for some incredibly tense and uncomfortable moments. My first real kiss ever I laughed in the boys face. Not a good moment.
    5. I collect Aunt Jemimah bottles.
    6. I feel guilty because I spend entirely too much time on Xanga.
    7. I love to look through lite windows when I’m walking or driving down a street at night.
    8. I’m scared to try a lot of the things I want to do in life.

    I tag georgiagirl52569 , LilanyB, beli grrl , Eleven Stones , shellisland , Abigailigator , Randy7777, Rbynfairy

    Have fun… Ang

  • birthday lunch 009 BAY WATCH

    Saw my first tall ship on the Bay yesterday. There are three of them that are out all summer long.

     

     

     

     

    gerber daisy 003 Timber wanted to see a Gerber daisy. This is the one I picked up at the farmers market last weekend.

     

    Tonight I am going to be planting Hostas in the front yard and setting up two of the cattle tanks… one we use as a giant turtle pond and the other will be our water garden this year.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    ***********************************EDIT*****************************************

    Hostas planted, bush removed from the front of the house, turtle tank filled with water and rocks… now it has to warm up a little, water pond filled and waiting for me to plant the lilies…

    I think it was a good day.

    I’ll post a picture of both tanks in a couple of days when I have everything in them and they look like their supposed to.