May 27, 2007

  • So… the weekend has been going really well here so far. Friday night Charlie and Is spent the night at Grandma and Grandpa’s house so the next morning Ben and I took Cooper out to breakfast at Rounds.

    breakfast at rounds 023.jpg For three of us breakfast was sixteen dollars and that was with the tip, so the prices are good . The griddle cakes are WONDERFUL and the rhubarb pie… mmmm…

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    breakfast at rounds 022.jpg

    Rounds is one of the last lunch counter restaurants in the area, if not THE last. I don’t know that for sure though so don’t quote me on it.

    The customers are a varied bunch, there was an older couple planning a vacation home occupying the booth next to us, and a bum at the counter when we came in taking advantage of an endless cup.

    Oh… And they serve corned beef and cabbage every Tuesday… I have NO idea why…

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    breakfast at rounds 014.jpg Cheap entertainment. Cooper napkin head… this reminds me of Cooper undie head… My son just likes putting things on his head, what can I say.

     

    Oh… check out his reflection in the table. I thought that was cool.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    breakfast at rounds 009.jpg

    Cooper and I were messing around at the counter taking pictures when in walked Mr.Gee. Right away he asked if we were from the area to which my response was yes and of course I know who you are!

    If you have lived in Traverse city most of your life and attended any number of Cherry Festivals at all You would know who this man is. He has been a part of The National Cherry Festival here for fifty four years, serving in different capacities. I remember him MCing our Band competition during the festival,  hosting parades, and grand marshaling , to any number of other things.

    He said that this year they will have a stand situated on the corner of Front and Union for all of the parades so that he can tell stories about the area and buildings and occasionally a funny embarrassing one about the people in the parade. I can’t wait to find a spot as close as I can.

     

    So that was Saturday… So far it’s been a great holiday weekend.

    Hope all of yours are going as well. Ang

Comments (15)

  • I LOVE going out for breakfast.  It really is an inexpensive meal and I am always full!  Darn, now I’m hungry again!  That looks like a great restaurant!

    LOL @ Cooper napkin head!!  He’s adorable!  I bet he keeps you entertained!

    I hope you are having a wonderful holiday weekend!! Alicia

  • I love old diners and lunch counters!!! Local color is so cool so is the napkin head!!

  • So, now I love your little Cooper!  He sort of reminds me of my nephew, Jordan, when he was little.  Now, if I could get to Traverse City, I would surely go to Rounds and have a piece of rhubarb pie!  Nice picture story, I enjoyed it!  Peace

  • Wow! It usually costs that for food at a diner for just my boyfriend and I and that’s without the pie or the tip. Ugh, NY is so expensive.

    Glad you’re having such a great weekend!

  • rhubarb pie, and corned beed and cabbage…..sounds good to me. So does a cherry festival. They just had a dumpling festival in the little town north of us.
    That little fellow, Cooper must be a lot of fun

  • Cooper may be headed for the construction industry, he can wear one of those skull cap things and a hard hat.
    Loved those old resturants, good food and a great people watching place. Corned beef thou, ahhhhhhh you can have mine.
    All small towns have a Mr. Gee in them, for us in this area its Bob G.

  • Great pics– I too live in a small town.  Happy Memorial Day!!

  • ROFL!  Cooper’s adorable.  He would get along well with my Maria.  She’s 15 and still does stuff like that.  LOL

    Trish

  • If you want magic, or hours of enterainment.  Go to a joke/ magic shop and get a ‘plastic thumb’. Because they’re more deceptinve than a child could want to be.  It could be the oldest trick in the book.  With simple ‘slight of hand’ and a fake thumb, balloons, a napkin, or cigarette will go away as long as you keep talking…

    1) Milk the story, out as long as you can and make the yarn,

    the secret is to get the augience to look away when you point up, like to the far northwest… like Vancouver Island… bla bla bla.

    2)  When you have his or their imaginations up to how you did it,  they will be surprised to see that the napkin and plastic thumb are in your pocket, already.

    the next secret is to not perform ‘the trick’ for enough time (like 15 years).  When they can really ask how you really did it, hand them the thumb and cop ass to how you did it.

  • Cooper is definitely gorgeous!  And thanks for your sweet comments on my blog……yeah, your house would be a little small for all of us – LOL!

  • Looks like you had a great day!  Many more like that lady.

  • Sounds like you’ve had alot of fun so far, hope it continues! Happy Memorial Day, love to you!

  • that sounds like a fun place to eat and visit. you lose that sometimes in the larger restaurant chains

  • I love those little cafes.  -some of the best food. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *