May 11, 2012

  • An excersise in frustration

    Cooper auditioned for the school talent show yesterday. I tried taping it, I messed it up and didn’t record… So today I convinced him to sing the song again so that I could post it and now it won’t upload.

    I am frustrated.

    I would wait and tape him at the talent show, but he won’t be singing the same song… Which I knew…

    The teacher’s gushed about how wonderful he was… and he was really good…

     (Especially after seeing some of the other acts…  shhh… )

    But they can’t allow him to sing his song of choice…

    Piano Man by Billy Joel.

    I don’t know why, but they seem to think that a 7 year old singing a song about playing piano in a bar… where the microphone smells like a beer and the businessmen slowly get stoned…isn’t appropriate…

    :-S

    When he sets his mind on something it is hard, really hard to get him to change it!

     After much drama and tears… Where he refused to change the words because “it was against his principals” and many “You just don’t understand, Mom!”

    Ben has helped him find something different for the actual show.

    I have to say that even though  I felt like it was a Little Miss Sunshine moment…

    It is so fun watching him sing it and every time he does it still makes me smile.

    Ben’s going to see if he can fix the video for me… So maybe I can show you guys and you can chuckle too.

    I hope this makes up for my laziness yesterday.

    Tomorrow is the first farm market of the year so I should hit the hay.

    This was the first time any of my kids have gone out for the talent show and I have never been in one.

     I found it fascinating!

    Have you ever been in or been to a talent show?

     

Comments (6)

  • No, but plenty of ballet recitals as a kid. My kids were in talent shows at school, BSA talent shows, and music recitals/marching band… so I’ve seen my share. It is always nice to see them do their best – even when they don’t win.

  • Video upload hasn’t worked on xanga for a long time (at least for me). I finally had to open a YouTube account just to get videos onto xanga.

  • @saintvi - good idea! maybe i will try that, but now it’s nap time!

  • I’ve been to a few.

  • I understand your frustration , Ang . You Tube  did not upload your video ? I would want to hear Cooper singing .. Congrats to him . 7 year old ! Amazing!

    Love {‘v}
    Michel

  • great song. and i like how he stuck by not changing the lyrics. i would like to have seen/heard him singing it tho

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *