January 9, 2010

  • “You are the embodiment of the information you choose to accept and act upon. To change your circumstances you need to change your thinking and subsequent actions.”

    ~Adlin Sinclair

    I have decided to stop waiting for a hammer…

    I know that Heavenly Father helps those that help themselves and here I am whining about not being inspired  and what should I do about it…

    I am going to make myself work through it!

    That’s my plan.

    I knew this before… This is why I have the Perfect Photo Search, it gives me something to look for when I can’t come up with ideas for pictures.

     I am going to apply the same thing to my art.

    I am just going to work through it. I have a ton of projects in my studio just waiting to be worked on… everyday I am going to make myself do a little bit and see what happens.

    Even if the creativity isn’t flowing now, I bet that it will follow, I just need to force myself into that head space.

    So that’s my plan…

    And, if forcing myself to do something happens to provide me with something to blog about, well, that’s even better…

    For me anyway, I don’t know about you guys,

    I suppose you will suffer through it because you like me, you really like me!

     

     

     

Comments (22)

  • I love you and look forward to whatever you POST….YOU TOOK OFFA BIT NOW POST WOMAN!

  • I am looking forward to it!

  • I’m with Beth! I’ve missed you! I’ve really, really missed you!! And I miss the PPS, too. Can’t wait for the new subject.

  • But you have the right idea! And THAT is what is IMPORTANT!

  • YOU are very inspiring!  I needed to read this.

  • Yep I like you!

  • I like this quote by Pearl S. Buck in reference to what you just wrote, “I don’t wait for moods. You accomplish nothing if you do that. Your mind must know it has got to get down to work.”

  • We do, we really do!

  • Are you familiar with The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron?  It is an excellent book worth looking into at times you may feel “stuck.”

  • I do like you, I really, really like you a lot!!!  I bet if you worked on something that the creative juices would start to flow again! You can do it!!!

  • Yep. I really like you, Angie. Everyone hits a dry period now and then. We have to learn to choose to be inspired, and to put ourselves in the right places. When God gives you a gift, (and He has gifted you, my dear!) we can also count on Him to stir it up in us. Sometimes I just ASK. Inspire me, God. Show me what you want. He is so creative, and we are His kids, made in His image, right? Nuff said!

  • I’m in a similar creative funk, so my hat’s off to you, Ang.  I think that for a creative believer, sometimes faith shows itself by trudging ahead on creative projects even if it really does feel like trudging.  This hasn’t been fully worked out in my life, so if you’re able to press through, let me know!

  • Of course we love you Ang !
    You are right the acting generates the thinking , the work generates the art , the making  generates the creating , . ….. ( I cannot continue because my English is too poor !)
    Love

    Michel

  • Durn it!  I had a hammer I was going to send and now you don’t need it!  You’re good, Angie…and I really, really do like you.  Peace

  • @fauquet - I think your english is wonderful… I think YOU are wonderful! 

  • awww shucks.   i do like you!  you have tons of creative juice.  you just have to open a new can!

  • Mornin Glorie….I really really like you too….but ILYM

    @the_fur_pimp - good answer Court!

  • Oh – Do we have a perfect picture search this year?

  • Thank you Ang for your warm comment . You are a friend.
    Love

    Michel

  • You have to break a lot of eggs if you are going to make an omelet. I spend countless hours painting, for no other reason than to improve my craft. Every once in a while I paint something that wows even me. AND I am quicker and more efficient at it too.

    SO my advice to you is to follow your own advice and just do it.

  • First of all, I do really like you.  And in this area, I am like you!  I’ve spent countless days lacking energy.  Countless days lacking drive.  Days and days lacking direction.  I guess it’s time to say I’m lackadaisical and do SOMETHING!

    So, today, inspired by you, I will stick my head back into writing my young-reader novel, even though it seems pointless.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *