Month: January 2009

  • TAKING TOPIC SUGGESTIONS!

    Yes, yes, it’s that time of the year again!

    Time to find something to entertain  myself with… something to get me through those inspiration draughts that we all get from time to time…

    Time for the yearly PERFECT PICTURE SEARCH!

    Seedsower and I have had some discussion on a topic and we decided that we would have TWO topics this year… One that’s challenging and another that is a little easier…

    The more challenging topic that we chose is…

    (drum roll, please)

    FACES IN THINGS

    Finding things that look like they have faces…

    veiw finder back veiw

    For example… the viewfinder pictures that I took last year…

    reflection in finder.jpg

    Half of a face…

    See his cool eyebrow?

    FACES IN THINGS

    Could be in rocks, trees, cars, buildings… you never know where you’ll find them…

    but now you’ll be looking for them!

    OK, topic two…

     I don’t know what the easier topic will be!

    That’s up to you guys…

    What would you like to see for the year?

    Remember we will see a lot of them…

    Everyone who wants to play along can. When you post your pictures I will recommend them and link them here from my site… remember to send me a message when they are up…

    Unfortunately I don’t get around as much as I used to *sigh*  and I don’t want to miss any.

    SO now is the time. I know you’ve been thinking about it…

    What do YOU think we should try to capture for the PPS?!?!?!?

     

    At the end of this year I am thinking about using the shots to make a calender for the following year… It’s an idea… I wish I had thought of it sooner… all of those DOOR shots would make a great calender…

     

     

     

  • Red shoes… and a warning…

    red shoes 1

    My red shoes…

    and a heads up that tomorrow I will post about the…

    PERFECT PICTURE SEARCH FOR THE YEAR!

    SO…

    You have been warned!

  • Last night I went to the Dennos Museum (link) for the opening of three of their exhibits.

    I was very exited about one in particular…

    It is a group of  polaroids that were donated to the museum… (link)

    Polaroids taken by Andy Warhol.

    He took pictures of everything… 

    As I sat in the gallery looking at the pictures, all elegantly framed, better then any polaroid should be, a woman came up to me and said… “You look like you know something about art. Why are these pictures any different then the pictures that I take? I don’t get it.”

    What I was thinking was… Well, you aren’t Warhol… but I didn’t say that.

    Instead we had a nice conversation about how he invented himself, why he felt the need to document everything and what  he would have done in the digital age 

    Then it occurred to me that Andy would have been a blogger… he would have been a blogger to beat all bloggers.

    In other news… I wore my red patten leather mary janes with the three inch chunky heel to the exhibit… (In honor of Andy.)  I had three woman come up to me and tell me they loved my shoes…

    I have gone up to people in the past and said… I like this or that… and sometimes I got weird looks… Other times people say “Thank you”… Now I know how nice it feels and I’ll make it a point to keep doing it when I see something cool.

    Two food for thought questions from this post…

    When you see someone who is wearing something you think is cool, do you tell them?

    and

    What other famous people in history do you think would be bloggers?

     

     

     

     

     

     

  • BRILLIANT

    I’m brilliant at four in the morning! At four in the morning  when I’m shuffling around the bakery getting  my work done, I write blogs in my head . Blogs that would make your sides ache from laughter and your eyes wet with tears from the humanity of it all…

    Yes, at four in the morning I’m a wonder, but at eleven  in the morning all you get is…

    I went swimming. Did twelve laps for a quarter of a mile! Now I ache but I am oh so happy because being in water is my mental therapy!

    underwater toes.jpg

    Yeah, see… not so brilliant now am I?!

    When do you write you best blogs? Do you make notes so you won’t forget things you want to blog about?

  • Wild Geese That Fly With the Moon on Their Wings

     A FAVORITE THINGS POST JUST BECAUSE IT MAKES ME HAPPY.

    Christine Lavin… I love her music and sense of humor.  I normally post a video of my musical favorite but I couldn’t find a good one, so this time I am giving you a page for my favorite album by her. Just click the play buttons before the song names and you can hear  almost the whole album.

    My particular favorites are A Fly On A Plane and  The Kind of Love You Never Recover From.

    LINK    LINK  LINK   LINK LINK LINK LINK LINK   LINK   LINK   LINK   LINK

     

    ART!
    John William Waterhouse

    When I worked at the frame shop sometimes I thought I would puke if I had to frame ONE MORE Lady Of Shallot… but now that it’s been awhile I kind of miss seeing the print all of the time.

    By far my favorites are his lady and knight paintings though.

    Lamia

    John William Waterhouse  LINK

    He is definitely one of my favorite things… check the link to see some wonderful images and send ecards even.

    FOOD

     (well it’s in someone’s food group)

    MMMM I can’t imagine anyone NOT liking them.

    LITERATURE…

    I’m cheating on this one too… right now I haven’t had time to sink my teeth into any really good books, but I always have time to do a puzzle in my GAMES magazine.

    If I fall asleep in the middle of a puzzle it’s no big deal.

    Well there they are… some of my FAVORITE THINGS… now it’s YOUR TURN!

    What’s one of YOUR favorite things?

  • Today was a snow day.

    The kids and I used the time to play with a Christmas gift that my Sister and Brother in Law got for me.

    mustache gift

    helpful stricke a pose helpful mustache goons

    The kids lasted all of two minutes before they tried to run off with my mustaches.

    I tried posing myself… 

    mysterious bthrobe look

    That just made me feel stupid… Trying to look mustache mysterious in a pink fuzzy bathrobe… It doesn’t work.

    I have a couple of me sticking my tongue out and crossing my eyes, but those don’t work either.

    Besides, you’ve seen it all before!

    I much prefer being BEHIND the camera.

    So I got my trusty friend Dog to model a couple for me.

    dog with chaplin stache dog with old man stache

    He didn’t complain and sat still as long as I needed him too.

    Probably because I glued his head on instead of just throwing him away when Charlie, age 2, broke him.

     Dog is grateful.

    We had great fun playing with them and I saved a couple so I can use them the next time there is a special occasion.

    I leave you with one last picture of Cooper and his solution to keeping his mustache yogurt free…

    mustache unibrow

    He turned it into a unibrow!

    Smart kid.

    Is it just me or does everyone feel stupid taking their own picture? I don’t know, maybe it was the fuzzy bathrobe and the mustache… Nah… it was taking my own picture!

  • Life has been… busy. I would say there isn’t enough time, but the truth is that I haven’t been using the time I do have wisely. Anyone who knows me in real life won’t be surprised by that one bit.

    I’m learning to make the dough at work. I make preffer and poolish and all of the organics. Then I pull the egg dough that the night crew makes for me and I shape that into coffee cakes, cinnamon rolls. sticky buns and challah.

    The hardest part has been learning how to braid the challah… I still don’t have it. I was hoping to find a diagram online, but we do a four strand braid and all I’ve found so far  are  diagrams for a six and a three…

     

     

    The three one looks like no sweat… but ahhh it isn’t so easy when you throw another strand in there…

    Tomorrow I start BAKING! Yup, they are letting ME control the ovens… Look out Traverse City.

    Don’t worry, I will be very careful, don’t want to ruin my resolution before the first month of the year is over!

    What have you all been up to? Anything exciting?

    Do you get antsy when you haven’t blogged in awhile?

     

  • I found the coolest thing…

    If your a TVaholic… Which, I am ashamed to say that I am…  There are so many of you out there now with Iphones and blackberries… You might love this too…

    www.HULU.com  (LINK)

    It’s free television and movies…

    They have hundreds of television shows… new, old, and canceled… There was a show I started watching and the network canceled half way through the season… well HULU has the ones that the network didn’t air!

    I sound like an infomercial… This is what happens when I don’t post in four days!

    Anyway… I swear, I’m not taking payments from them and I’m not asking you to send me money… it’s FREE TV PEOPLE…

    What’s your favorite television show? Old, new, or canceled?

    I’m interested to see if they have it.

  • POSITIVE THINKING

    Time once again to restate my resolutions for the New Year. I have done these two for the last three years in a row and they seem to work for me, so I thought I would do them again.

    1.) This year I will avoid setting myself on fire.

    2.) This year I will not shoot,cut, or maim myself or anyone else, in any way intentionally… Hey, accidents happen.

    The first one might be harder to keep this year, since I am now working at a bakery and next week I start using the ovens… but I’m still going to try my hardest.

    Do you believe in making resolutions?  If you do, what are yours for the coming year?  If you don’t, I will respect your resolution to remain resolute about not having resolutions!