April 25, 2008

  • This and THAT…

    HAD to leave the house to get one last piece of glass for the project.

    My Mamala took Cooper and I to lunch and then we went for a little drive.

    A very short picture taking mission within a couple miles of our house.

     rain boots and the river.jpg

    Took a picture of my boots for the Green Panther.

    I stole these from my sister after the GIANT pile of poop incident…

    I have worn these to wade through rivers and mud puddles.

    They are always in my car incase I need them and they help get the shot.

    shoes and asphalt.jpg shoes and asphalt 2.jpg shoes in space!.jpg

    These are my glass shop shoes.

    Working on glass in flip flops is a big NO,NO… so these I will leave in my car for the summer too. I will always have them for work in the glass shop.

    On the drive home from our expedition,

    Cooper and I saw

    rain boots and ornary turtles 039 copy.jpg

    this guy in the middle of the road.

    Unfortunately he was in a very busy, double yellow section where there is a lot of traffic.

    So of course I stopped…

    I was a little late a truck hit him just when I noticed him…

    I saw this big guy take a bite at the trucks tire.

    With a quick look from a safe distance I could tell he had lost a shell scale and was bleeding from his mouth, but would probably recover.

    I took a mailing box I had in my car and and slid it under him.

    The ungrateful cure kept trying to bite my fingers.

    He was the size of a basket ball and not something I’d want to mess with if it wasn’t life or death.

    Another woman stopped and I used her ice scrapper to push the box to the side of the road.

    Sounds like a bad joke:

    What do you get when you put two blondes, a snapping turtle and an ice scrapper in the middle of a busy road??

    Okay a bad joke…

    I got the ornery cuss to the side of the road and  took this quick picture without losing any fingers.

     As I was getting back in the car I heard the turtle speak.

    He said.

    “You put me on the wrong side of the road you fat cow!”

    That’s gratitude for ya.

     

Comments (60)

  • That is one big turtle. We had snapping turtles where we lived when my kids were growing up, and they would come home with them on occassion (among many other slimy, crawly things) . . . their father made turtle soup with one of my boys’ “catch of the day”  YEEESH  Next time explain to the ungrateful reptile that he could find himself in VERY hot milk if he isn’t more polite . . . Sandra, laughing

  • did I mention that I like your shoes???

    S . . . .

  • Awww, poor guy!  I would probably be cranky too if I had been hit by a truck though!

  • Love the pictures!

  • totally lovin the pics

    oh and mom told me today she wanted to learn to do stained glass but quickly decided it could be a bad idea for a person on blood thinners to do it

  • Great boots!  Poor turtle! We always move turtles out of the road too. Hope he’ll recover and not be too mad about being put on the wrong side of the road!

  • ahh turtles. I have patched up many (marine bondo does wonders). and they are all ungrateful. everyone of them. I”m glad you got him to the side of the road and hopefully he won’t try and go back. they are rather persistent when they make up their minds.

    I like your shoes…I have a pair almost just like them! (I’m hell on puddles too!)

  • Love the boots!

  • Poor turtle.

    Good job rescuing him, even if he was snapping at you the whole time!

  • LOL (at the turtle’s comment!) – glad you were able to get him to safety.  Love the shoe pics!

  • You’re a hero to turtles everywhere!

    Great shoes, b/t/w.

  • @TheGreenPanther - If she wanted to wear gloves for extra safety it might not be a bad idea… but yeah, I get  A LOT of little cuts.

  • Did he call you a heiffer?

    They wil do that!

    I love the tootsie shots!

  • You take the best pictures, Angi.   I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again….it’s like…the whole perspective…it’s the whole capturing of a perspective…..the whole making shoes and what we do with them, and fail to notice—you find it,  and pick up on it, and make it so….just so REAL…..because it is real–and darnit woman you are artistic.  It is so refreshing to me, because I can SEE it when YOU post it, but yet they are things that the most of us wouldn’t even think to capture.  You know?    I cannot do it……pictures, creating all the awesome things you do in your workshop….ALL OF YOU….I adore…..because I cannot find it within me, besides writing, but yet when you post something then I see it and it’s amazing. 

    What is the glass…..is it beach glass?  Or is it more jagged glass (I know you are on lakes…so I am not sure)…beach glass…….I am a registered (ha) expert with that (non jagged and soooo amazing and years and years old tumbled glass that churns up onto the beach)……I can find glass, and see it when no one else can…..the quiet, the peace….with just the sound of the ocean crashing, and me finding glass constantly is something I like to do alone at the ocean…..just the quiet of it, and the glass–so smooth–not a chance anyone could ever cut themselves on it; I could RUN on it and it wouldn’t hurt….unlike a shell…..just so smooth and rounded glass?—just amazingly colored years and years and years of tumbled ocean glass……do you have that there?  Soooo pretty!

  • @ilsurvive - You’ve been gone! Check out my last post… that’ll show you the kind of glass.

    Thank you! You say the nicest things.

  • Awww, I like turtles lots.  Hope he was okay.

    You now basically rule because you help save the beast – you know this, right? =) 

  • blondes to the rescue and badass boots to boot.

    Too much fun.

  • Darn snappers, we had a pet duck when I was a kid and a snapper took a chunk out of his side, luckily he survived.  I admit though that I’m a sucker for doing the same darn thing, our house is on a turtle crossing and so we know which direction they’re going depending on the time of year, that’s nice cause it cuts down on rude turtle comments. 

    Love the boots, I’ll have to take a pic of my wellies for you.

  • @angi1972 -  I did….it’s like a whole big, pane of glass?  ,,,,no; we have nothing like that here.  It’d be shattered in the ocean immediatly and wash up a year later in little fragments of tumbled glass.  You really find whole big, huge chunks of glass to work with?  That is too cool.  Ours is tubled, but perfect….so not like buying manufactured tumbled glass, and just so peaceful to go and hunt for…….I imagine very similiar to you going out for your hunts for big window sized pieces…and a form of something we do here at the ocean???!!!???

    I am glad your stomach feels some better!  When I left……I worried you were getting a stomach virus from your pulse, and your kids having been home sick the day before…(it’s Spring break HERE right now….until Tuesday)….. it seems you got it, and are now on the mend?  Oy…those are the worst….those, and ear infections…….death…they both feel like to me now as an adult.  I am glad you are better and it passed!!!!

  • RYC: Ohhh Lord, Thank goodness it wasn’t THAT SMELL!!! GAK!!

    Great pictures as usual, and a good deed to boot!  Touche turtle would be proud : http://members.aol.com/PaulEC3/tt01.jpg

    Now if you REMEMBER Touche Turtle I will be IMPRESSED!! LOL

  • ohhhh, look at the moss on that turtle…he/she is an old thang!  I love your car shoes, I’ve got a pair myself! 

    Yea, we are chatty today, eh?  I’m ready for a cup of coffee, come on over and bring glass! 

  • hahaha love the ending

  • mean ass turtle!!  i got your back in case he ever comes after you ang!!  tee  hee!  you are the second friend i have come across with pictures of shoes in their blog…  the funny thing is, if you have a sec, go check out my post for today and take a peek at the first pic under all the writing.. sandy tootsies!!  whoop whoop!!

  • That is so cool…you saved a talking turtle.  I’m sure he’ll be grateful for the rest of his life even if he was a little cranky.  Probably from the tire rolling over his body..

  • LOL… that gave me a good laugh… 

  • pile of poop incident? hmmf, I missed that one… I can’t keep up on everything but that sounds like a good story..

    cute turtle…  :)

  • Love the photos, Angi. Have a great weekend. 

  • LOL!!!  That turtle has quite a sense of humor!! It sure was nice of you to save him.

    Love the skull crocs!!

  • @ravensgift - There is a link to it if your ever bored… beware thought… it deals with poop… ;-b

  • Way to go, girl!  Save the planet one turtle at a time! 

  • Damn turtle. oh! How could he not appreciate you! Although he is rather cute.

  • lol You are funny!

  • Ha, good turtle story.  =) 

  • LOL  If it had been my ex-husband, he would have tried to make turtle stew…it’s times like this I’m glad he’s my EX.  lol

  • @Celestial_Rose2002 - I was thinking something like that! I was thinking my Grandpa would have wanted me to bring him home for stew! lol

  • Those PS photos are great. Awesome.

  • Great pictures.  Lucky turtle that you came along.  Hmmm, must have been a male, yup definately, turtle.  Who else would be so ungrateful of assistance rendered?  Trying to bite the hand of the one who freed him.  Saved him from becoming another splotch along lifes highway.  The one who kept him from being totaly cracked up.  And of course kept him out of the soup.  Hope his mother took him to task when he got home.  He needed to say thank you. 

    love those boots

  • Read the poop story…lol…my hub saved a snapper from getting run over on a freeway on-ramp…he got him into a big bucket and put him in the back of his work truck (intending to bring him home and put him in my sister’s swamp…forgetting that the kids used to wade in there…duh) anyway, while driving down the road he looked in the rear-view window and saw the turtle had gotten out of the bucket and was trying to climb over the tailgate, it was only about a foot tall…he pulled over and tried to prod him back into the bucket…he bit through the broom handle, that’s when he changed his mind about putting him in the swamp, he let him out on the side of the next creek…he always stops to get turtles out of the road…thought I’d be a widow on our honeymoon when he stopped on a curve on a really busy road and ran back to get one…lol…have a great weekend…Rainy

  • @nattiecross - ME TOO! lol It’s compulive… luckily my hubby does the same thing so he understands. lol

    Yeah… what I did today was a little stupid… it was NOT a safe place to stop… but it turned out well.

    Night Rainy!

  • them some badass skull boots

    a friend to all animals is a friend of mine :)

    now i must work on treating some certain people well…

  • @mercyless1 - It’s always easier with animals isn’t it!

    Thanks for the comment on my boots! They really come in handy when I’m taking pictures…

  • My brother had a pet turtle for a day when we were young.  I think he had found it outside, and immediately upon meeting it, he loved the thing.  He’s taking this turtle with him everywhere in a shoe box all day. 
    That evening, my parents were out, my brother and I were in our jammies watching TV before bedtime, and one of our sisters, Sheila, was babysitting us.   Of course, my brother has the turtle with him.  As much as he loves this turtle, he is twice as curious, and will not leave the thing alone.  He kept poking, and poking, and poking…
    Next thing ya know, ++crunch++, the annoyed thing clamps on to his finger, my brother starts screaming.  I turn around in time to see the poor thing hanging three feet off the floor from my brother’s finger as he’s screaming “get it off”.  I guess he flung the thing off.  I went with him into the bathroom to run his finger under cold water.  I don’t remember any blood.
    Once he’s calmed down, he goes looking for his friend.  Turtle is no where to be found, he has been evicted from the house.  My sister Sheila was so upset that this turtle bit our brother on her watch in our house that she took it outside and let it go.  My poor brother spent a while outside in the dark looking though the shrubbery for his turtle.  He would have forgiven the poor little turtle and been friends again.  I think my sister had the right idea, though, the turtle was much better off back in “the wilds” of our suburbs than trapped in a shoe box.  Sheila, do you remember that?
    So sorry to see ‘your’ turtle bleeding and scraped up but I guess that’s what shells are for!  Neat picture, funny story.
    And I love the rain boots, too.

  • Your pictures are so great.  I love them!  Stupid ungrateful turtle.  Reminds me of sooo many things.

  • No good deed goes unpunished!! Glad you helped the little guy out,you are just too kool. Nice shoes,tootsie!!

  • Awww. You know how I love them turtles!  I’m sure he’s happy that you gave him more time.   Love your boots!

  • Hope that ungrateful, terrible terrapin recovers! I hear they make good soup.   Love those boots! Here in Denmark we call the gummi støvler! Have a great Saurday!

  • Cool effects on the pictures; they look so different from the original.

    Any particular reason for the shoes and gravely puddles theme?

  • TURTLE!!!….i used to have a pet one as a kid, like a little tortoise. we set it free after it got a lil too big, in the national park’s lake…it was so happy to see freedom!!

    it was a freshwater snapper….it snaps…feisty!

  • Just let me get my hands on that turtle.  I will teach him to sass you.  Here I thought it was my job to save the world.  I guess I’m all talk and your all action. LOL

  • Thank you for saving that turtle!  I would have done the very same thing.  If it ever rained here….I would get me some of those crazy boots – they’re too cute!  I like the PS shoe pics too, you think up the best things to do!  Peace

  • Your pictures are so great.

  • Remember the mail art you sent?  Well I was looking at it trying to figure out how to out do it…I couldn’t.

  • Hey Angi,

    I posted a couple doors, not real exciting but I did think of you while I was out with my camera!!!

  • @Scuba_Patrol - Aww come on I bet you can do something cool… A post card with  doodle on it is mail art. lol

    Did you se the Mail Art album? There are ever doll heads in there. lol

  • OK…. why did you leave a talking turtle in the wilderness?  You could have made millions I am sure!  LOL~

  • Visit My Website  nice one i hope you appriciated my comment nice catch ha

  • I love the ending Haha! Ungrateful turtle!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *