February 9, 2007

  • February 2007 Topic 1 of 2

    dead bodies… it could be about insects, people, water… oh all sorts of things!!!!

    ********************************************************

    This will be the first time I’ve attempted a group topic but here it goes.

    My experience is more of a horror movie moment then it is about a dead body, although there is a body involved.

    Our laundry room is in the deep dark bowels of our house, otherwise known as ‘the basement’. It’s never fun to go do laundry and even less so when one has to venture into a basement. A cold unfinished part of our house that holds all of the secret inner workings no one ever really wants to know about, but should to maintain a home.

    One Fall day I ventured down to do the laundry. A chore that has to be done if you aren’t the proud owner of Lady Godiva hair. Even then, in the fall, Northern Michigan isn’t a place were a hair coat is enough.

    As I approached the washing machine I noticed the large wash tub next to it was full of dirty water.

    How strange that seemed dirty water? The water should be clean. Perhaps I had forgot to clean the sink after washing off my last project. Of course it was easily dismissed, the tiny itch, voice, at the back of my brain telling me that it was odd, was easily ignored.

    It must be plugged by lint. I’ll just reach in and pull out the plug.

    Don’t do it! The itch, voice, at the back of my brain was louder now. We don’t need clothes that bad, it isn’t terribly cold outside.The kids will survive going bare a couple of more days. Wait until Ben gets home he’ll fix it.

    Again I ignored the growing voice in my head.

    Don’t be silly… It’s a simple matter of reaching in. It doesn’t matter if I can’t see my hand, I’ll know its there. I mean we’re in the basement of our own home there isn’t anything scary here. Even when the voice is screaming at me, I choose the practical route. That’s just who I am.

    So I pushed my sleeve up and proceeded to plunge my hand into the freezing cold water in search of the drain.

     There it is.

    Wow… that’s a really big wad of lint and it’s so squishy. It just feels really weird. As my hand approaches the top of the water I’m wondering what I could have possible washed that produced so much lint and why did it feel so… gross.

    Pulling my hand from the water, I bent towards the offending lump to see if I could tell what it was from. As it was falling apart in my hand, a little tail wrapped itself around the base of my thumb.

     Of course the practical part of me took over again. I did what had to be done. I screamed and dropped the disgusting, decaying body of the mouse I had just removed back into the tub of water.

    Real smart.

    I danced the creepy, crawly, icky, GET IT OFF OF ME jig. All of the time listening to the voice in my head laughing and saying “told you so.”

     I gathered myself together, went upstairs, got a plastic bag, gloves and windex. I fished the poor little guy out of the tub although I wasn’t feeling charitable enough to refer to him as that then. I put him in the bag and threw him in the garbage. I then proceeded to wipe down and clean the freshly drained, but by no means fresh washtub.

    I know he probably should have had a proper burial, but I just didn’t have it in me at that moment to feel kindness towards him.  I mean, how dare he die in my wash tub? So I suppose his little bones were picked clean at the dump and now I can feel a little guilty over it.

    But again, the voice in my head is saying ’Don’t worry about it’ and if there’s one thing this experience has taught me to do, it’s to listen to the voice in my head.

    Oh yeah, and let Ben take care of any more plugged drains.

Comments (39)

  • Actually, the way it started, I thought you were going to mention the oven incident. (Not that I meant to bring back more traumatic memories – well maybe I did ….)

  • New mice have no tails.   They’re cordless.  

  • Ewwww…drowned mouse. We used to get them and baby moles in the pool skimmer. They would fall in at night and drown.  My solution was to use the net skimmer and catapult them over the back fence into my annoying neighbors yard. I bet next time you’ll use a tool to clean the drain..eh??

    Take care and have a great one.

  • RYC: I did not know you had a neurolyz……

  • LMAO!  You are a better woman than I!  I would have been calling someone, anyone else, to fish that little creature out of the laundry tub…. ewwww, gross, disgusting! 

    “I danced the creepy, crawly, icky, GET IT OFF OF ME jig.”  This made me laugh out loud! 

  • I dated a girl in HS that lived above a funeral home and our first kiss was in the embalming room. Kinda creepy but kinda hot too. It was actually cool to nose around in the room, drawers with dead filks in them – scary as shit especially since she got in one and scared the piss out of me when I opened that drawer! But she kissed very well so it was worth it.

  • LMAO and EWWWW…..

    Too funny, and you are a brave one.
    I would have been scared beyond believe, hehe.

    Have a wonderful friday, sweetie and an awsome weekend.
    Hugs,
    LeLo

  • Ewww…urgh..blurgh.

  • I think I might have tossed my cookies had I done that. OMG!!

  • I’m dancing the jig just reading the story……gag!!

  • that would have freaked me out, too.  Good story!

  • IGH!!!

    Angi..I think I may have given up laundry for life, joined a nudist colony *grin*

    Have a super weekend.

  • ROFLMAO!!!  I’ll post my dead body story tomorrow.

  • Gross!!!  Makes me queasy just thinking about what the texture would have felt like…<>

    I don’t get my weiner back until 5:30est tonight…I miss him terribly!  lol

  • Um, like…ew.  LOL. 

    Thanks for stopping by my xanga!  I love mail art, love getting, love sending it, love seeing it.  Us postal people need something fun once in awhile.  Looking at  naked women on men’s “health” magazines just doesn’t cut it.  And why don’t women’s health magazines have nekkid men?  No…we get CAKE and a new diet!  LOL.

  • I can soooo see you doing the hebejebe dance when you found the mouse. When I was a kid I had a mouse jump out of the slop sink. It scared the crap out of me.

  • “I danced the creepy, crawly, icky, GET IT OFF OF ME jig.” I always called this the “international spider on my leg dance”. Interesting. :)

  • The creepy, crawly, icky, GET IT OFF OF ME jig… priceless.

  • RYC:  Romantic -  Have a great Valentines Day – sorry vday sounds like war.  lol 

  • Ooh, I saw where that was going before you got there (having had a dead mouse or two in our basement).  Never stick your hands in dirty, suspicious water without rubber gloves (in the event no men around)…

  • Oh, that’s so gross!  I don’t know that I could have gone back and finished the job, gloves or no gloves. 

     I’m QUITE familiar with that dance, especially around bees!  : )

  • aww poor little thing.. :S

  • Okk ummmmm ewww! lol ….I had a similar situation with a mouse only somehow he was washed in my washer spin cycle and all and died…yuk! hehe

  • oh….sick…hahaa i would never do it with my bare hands. i have this theory where all the stuff frmo the yuky stuff sticks to your hand forever. so i always use a glove or sumtin…

    hahah u made me laugh…i do that dancing too when im grossed out….there was a lizard on my laundry door and i was going to opent he door and i totaly freaked out, the whole scream and jumpy thingy. i stood there for about 3 mins or so for it to leave, and my brother came a long and totaly just kicked the door and it fell off hhahahahaa LIFESAVER!

  • Icky, I bet that crosses your mind every time you look at that sink!

  • I think I would have died– right then and there. You are so much braver than I!!

  • Ewww! I know that dance!! I do it every time I see one of those huge “waterbugs” down here (they look like cockroaches, only they’re HUGE and actually live outside most of the time)… and then I make ABD come kill it. In an emergency, I can and do squish them; but why when you can give your loving husband the opportunity to feel all manly and protective of his wifey? LOL!

    RYC: A friend of ours from our old church does heating & air conditioning; and he’s worked on our stuff before. He’ll be out here in a couple of hours. In the meantime, BRR!

  • Disgusting!! I can totally relate, I used to live with squirrels and mice in my cabin in the woods. When you described grabbing the dead mouse….*shivers*

  • RYC:  You’ll have to explain to me what a mudroom is.   violaters will vanish …. lol  

  • RYC:  ic -  We use to live on a farm several years ago and there was a room such as what you describe – a mud room.  We just called it a portch.   

  •   My laundry room is down in the dungeon of our basement too.. In the past few years I have walked down there to find dead mice and dead bats.  It’s the live bats swoopin’ at my head that cause me to scream and run upstairs hysterical!  Once when I was living at home, my mom had gone down to the basement to do laundry. She reached into the washing maching to grab a “sock” that appeared stuck to the side of the washing cylinder.  All us kids heard was screaming, swearing and feet running up the stairs.  Lo and behold the “sock” was in fact a bat!  I never leave my washing machine open to this day!  Lesson learned I guess, hehe!

  • Yeah, did that little tail really wrap around you, oooghhie.
    Definitely let someone else deal with the plugged up drains.
    Hugs, Tricia

  • they tore down a condemned house three houses from mine and all the RATS fled, some finding my house.  I noticed the first one when my boyfriend at the time told me saw a rat.  I laughed thinking he was joking…not in my house!!!

    I leaned over and while my brain must have gotten the message of what my eyes were seeing apparently my legs and body were much faster than those damn slow eyes of mine.  I don’t really remembering seeing it but I remember cramming my 300 lb body up on the very top of my sofa and thinking there was no way I was ever coming down.  I spent a week at the boyfriends house while I layed out a whole lotta poison pellets and tapped off all the water sources to keep them from dying in my house.(doesn’t work by the way…my house smelled horrible from a month in the middle of summer..ugh) 

    While on the toilet a week and a half later I happened to look over and see one rat very poisoned and too weak to move…Not that it mattered.  I jumped up from peeing, spraying everywhere, and ran to my door barely getting my pants up before I went through it.  I did what any smart, educated, intelligent, sophisticated woman on her own does…I called my daddy to come and kill it and take it out of my house.  Disgusting little things.  Now I just hear scratching and I break out the poison.

    As to dead bodies.  I work in an emergency room so I see more than I care to…but I didn’t think that was what you meant by dead bodies.

  • Gross! I just got the chills from that! I do that same dance around bugs - especially centipedes.

  • That had me. I wasn’t sure what to expect! You set it up very well.

  • I think that I’m fairly masculine — still, I don’t believe that I would have acted with much dignity upon discovering a cold, wet, dead mouse in my hand . . .

  • Hello.

    I saw you on the scurvy dog salty wenches blog ring and wanted to say hello. I see that this is an older blog and I’m not going to give you my dead body story because I’m studing to be a funeral director. I’ll just spare you that. So anyway, Hello

  • Came across your blog while browsing a blogring we both belong to. You write so well and this particular entry had me chuckling. Mind if I add you?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *