January 3, 2010

  • Today as I was walking into the bakery getting ready to make the preffers, I thought how fun it would be to do a blog and show you all part of what I do… but I didn’t have my camera.

    I’ve stopped carrying a camera with me everywhere I go. I think I will start again.

     Ben and I are working on a few fun projects that would be interesting to blog about I think, so I will dig out my old Kodak.

    When I pass away I wouldn’t mind if they played this song somewhere in the goings on… whatever they may be…

    I kind of hope they have a party. I don’t care much about a funeral, and I definitely don’t want a viewing.

     (Why would I want  people staring at my beard?!) 

    I would like a party though, nothing crazy, maybe just a back yard BBQ with a DJ or a five piece band.

    How about you? When you go, how do you want to be celebrated?

     (Is it weird to think about this kind of thing?)

     

Comments (22)

  • Not that weird. I’ve already told my family that I wish to be cremated… I mean, if God can raise me from the dead; I think he can figure out which ashes are mine. Plus, I was really hoping for a body upgrade, too! So, I’ll be having a memorial service only; and I hope people will bring tons of food and be there for my family, remembering me in funny stories and companionship with others who loved me. That doesn’t seem like too much to ask, does it? 

  • Like a good Marine ” Be Prepaird ” We pass this way but once. When it’s over it’s over, I want to be let go and rememberd the good times! Have a good week Angie!

  • I’m kind of the have-a-party-when-i’m-gone kind of gal myself. Sure beats the crying and moaning bit. Crying’s ok and all… but I’d like there to be some smiling and laughing and singing too

  • OK. I want to be cremated. If I go before Doug, then they can stick my urn in his casket, along with Sargeant, the German Shepherd we had that died in 2006. (Don’t know what else to do with his urn, and he just worshiped the ground Doug walked on…) I think the cost of a funeral is just utterly rediculas, so, if they want to hold some sort of get together, do it where it is cheap, and remember the cheesebucket music!

  • Cremation for me. Don’t waste money on flowers – I never liked them in a vase while I was alive so I certainly don’t want them when I’m dead! Send the money to a good charity – The Heifer Project or the Red Cross or something like that… Have a little memorial service with family and friends and laugh. It should be a celebration.

  • Like you, I am not interested in a viewing. I will take cremation and a nice memorial service. For that matter, I want my ashes scattered, not in one place. I get antsy in the house for too long, I can’t imagine how my spirit would feel about my body being stuck in the same place forever. lol.

  • I like the song. I’ve told my husband I would like him to give away any part of me that someone else could use. (I hate waste!) Then, the rest of me can get burned up. I see my death as a graduation day — moving up to something far better than this. I hope there will be a joyful service which celebrates my life. I have a few songs I would like to be played. I used to say I would like my ashes scattered over Wal-Mart, but now I am not so sure of that! LOL!

  • Do you know Ang the famous song ” Que sera sera ” ? ( That will be will be )
    Love

    Michel

  • It’s not a weird thing to consider one’s mortality.  It’s sad that our lives have to be so cut-short; but it’s good to think about the next life and what our lives might add up to.  I don’t have a song in mind, but I know what I wish would be on my tombstone: The story continues!  (Watch for a quote I’ll post — maybe today — that has to do with the sum total of our lives.)

  • You are weird and lovable. Did I say Happy New Year yet?  Probably not.  Happy New Year!!

  • No viewing or anything like that for me.  Cremation and then the ones who loved me can gather at a later date, play my favorite songs, and spread my ashes into the Gulf of Mexico at (where else?)Shellisland!  It’ll be a great excuse for them to get to go to the beach.  I like the song a lot.  Peace 

  • cremate me and scatter me in the ocean at a coral reef somewhere. i’m with you on the bar-b-q thing with a band …………open bar !

  • no, not weird.  i definitely want people to remember the happy things about me.  i want lots of laughter at my memorial–i don’t like the word funeral for that reason.  i would like it to be a celebration of my life, not a sad thing. 

    i would rather people reminisce and play good music than it be all full of jesus-talk and sermons. 

  • okay so this is weird but i was just  thinking abou this.  we had a guy at our church who just passed away.  i asked our pastor when the funeral was gonna be.  he said there wasnt gonna be on.  all he wanted was to be creamated and placed his ashes with his parents.   i told my wife if i die before her to do what ever makes her happy.  however i would want to be burried in the bare earth and not put in a casket.  i will save a tree even in my death.  yes!  

    hey they can always shave the beard off!

  • Edna Gladney is in FtWorth

  • I want a funeral fit for a Queen Mum…pink hearse with loud speakers blaring The Beach Boys,” Barbara Ann!”

  • I’ll come sing for ya Mornin Glorie…and I’ll bring a friend  I don’t think it’s weird to think about such things. How else will we know what to do with ya – I want to be cremated too – I’m gonna do a road trip with a map and instructions on where to scatter me, there will also be pre-recorded music to drive by and who ever takes the trip gets my car – but just keep my ashes in the cardboard box until the scattering – the urn thing kinda creeps me out!  Then I want a party with lots of singing dancin and drinkin…and everyone should wear bright cheerful clothing – or nothing at all ….ilym

  • I like that song! I have given this thought, actually not many years ago we truly thought that it would come to pass. My lupus had gotten really bad, the chemo had wiped my immune system out and I had a resistant staph infection in my lungs. The doctors told us to make our plans. It got me to thinking serious about this. I had always wanted them to use all my organs, to give life to someone else, its the last gift I could give, sadly now with lupus they do not want my organs. I hate that!!! I do want to be cremated too. I think on that final trumpet call its going to be might cool seeing Jesus pull the ashes together once again to take us home! I have told my family to throw my ashes in the place I love most, the mountains of NC. Then to gather together and just enjoy each others company! I have a few songs that I love, and I would not mind having them sung in my honor. The important thing is that my loved ones gather and enjoy being together and support each other!  

  • I use to think all the time about how I wanted my funeral; flowers, music, people bawling over me, right down to who the pall bearers were going to be. Now I dont really care what happens and who does or doesnt show up. The only thing that has remained is the fact that I want to be put into a musolium.

  • My gut is pretty much everyone thinks about it at some time or another. I want to be cremated and my ashes thrown in to the Atlantic ocean.

  • Happy New Years Ang!

  • My friend wanted balloons and she got them.  Not in the church, but at the cemetery.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *