April 21, 2009

  • Are You Waiting to Die?

    Cooper is going through a stage… I PRAY that it’s a stage. 

    He is more then a little stubborn and rude. I keep reminding him to be nice or be polite but…

    Yesterday he was wearing his Spiderman costume, which he does often, he insists on it. We were in a restaurant and the owner looked at Cooper and said  “Well hello Spiderman!” and Cooper yelled at him… “I’m Cooper! This is a costume. I’m NOT Spiderman. I’m was pretending!” I apologized. I made Cooper apologize. Then I commented to Ben that I hope  Cooper grows out of the stage soon. Ben assured me that he would and then he reminded me of the stages our other children have gone through…

    geocahing halloween party copy

    Isabelle had a fear of weather and natural disasters. All of the New Orleans stuff was happening around the time she was four. That one wasn’t horrible, it just took some reassuring and some  talks about rolling with the things life throws at you. I also believe she had a disaster escape plan, but it wasn’t really easy to understand as it was written/drawn in the language of four year old.

    Charlie was obsessed with death. Yup… death. He had planned his head stone, he wanted Transformers instead of flowers. He wondered about how people died and when and why. The kicker was one day when he was standing in a line near an old woman with a cane and he turned to her and said “Are you waiting to die?”  I think Ben almost fell over from embarrassment.

    charlie face

    I think I can handle a little rudeness… Still I hope it passes soon.

    What stages have YOU had to deal with?

Comments (30)

  • Hmmm, nothing too big yet. Just some of the normal stuff like being afraid of ghosts or monsters.

  • No children…and of course, I was perfect in every way?  uphill naked in the snow to school or home each day.

  • I went through a time of really worrying about my death. It was no fun at all.

    However, we had 3 kids–2 girls and  a boy. I do not have time to share what we went through with him!! I cannot count the times the wife and I just wanted to die.

    Now is is OK, different of course, but OK. He is a Christian, has a 161 I.Q. and married with a step son. He is trying to be a good dad.

  • My daughter has a fear of fire/electrocution that began when she was old enough to start reading all the crazy warning labels on mundane things like light bulbs and hairdryers.  She doesn’t even like being able to SEE a source of water (sink, tub, toilet) when I dry her hair (kind of hard in a bathroom!!) and she went through a phase of being afraid that her reading light would set her room on fire after she fell asleep.  I couldn’t come up with enough ways to convince her that both her father and I were smart enough to choose the right wattage for the light bulb and that she would not be in danger!!!!

  • I am still dealing with the I don’t wanna go to work stage but I suppose you meant the kids
    There was a time when we told son Jeff not to let anybody pick on him anymore, he was smallish in grade school and maybe a touch to easy to get along with.
    Anyho I bought him a speed bag, both me and Trusty kept telling him to stick up for himself, karate classes the whole nine yards.
    By the end of that school year we were telling him “just don’t hit anybody today”

    Did not get her the kayak, found the model in a couple of stores but not the right length and she really was a little peeved about the prices eh maybe I can find a good deal yet.

  • hmm….my nephew brady insists on eating all his food so he can get big muscles like his uncle court (i wonder where he got that idea)

    Cassidy is 3 going on four.  i would say  her stages are tucking me in to bed and being a princess and wrestling with me.  we take turns giving the “anaconda squeeze)

    Now brodie doesnt want to wrestle anymore.  in fact it seems that most things i do just annoy him.  i hope its just a stage

  • I’m too old to remember all the stages we went thru! You’ll be able to blissfully forget them one day too, Angi!

  • Let’s see… one current stage is, “I’m graduated but I don’t want to really look hard for a job.”  When do they grow out of that?  At the same time, I’ve got a girl in third grade who’s all fussed up about what girls are pinky-swearing over during recess.  What a gamut.

  • As creative as the mother!  Cooper’s reply is kinda funny! lol I guess kids don’t like when they realize that adults don’t take them serious.

    Speaking of phases, last year when my niece visited me, she painted smiling suns on my blackboard. This year she erased them and painted skulls. lol

  • there isn’t enough space….

    @ideaguy - >snork

  • how do you do all three of them? lol

    that must be common cause at halloween one time I kept getting the costumes wrong cause I don’t watch cartoon. I thought the kid was a spaceman and he was a power ranger(yelled at me) then alittle girl yelled at me for getting her wrong-not a princess but Barbie or somehting. I told my hubby that these kids and really into you getting it right.

    Hubby just laughed at me but I didn’t see it as rude but that they were passionate about their costume characters.

  • I went thought a rebellious stage. I think my parents beat it out of me. kudos to them :)

  • that is funny about Charlie asking that question cause when I go to the Nursing Home to visit they are all sitting in the living room like it’s God’s waitting room.

    I know what you mean with Isabelle cause my sister’s mother in law was at Tops(taking pounds off sensibly) and when she got home from the evening meeting lighting had struck her house and it burned down in the country so Ashley was about that age and would ask,”will our house still be here when we get back?”

  • @ElevenStones - That’s why you ALWAYS get the gift BEFORE you tell!

  • How cute!  The little ones keep us laughing. Shucks, I’m going through some kind of stage myself. It’s all life.

  • When Bob and Ron were in their early teens I was complaining about all the problems they were having and I made the comment to my oldest brother that I couldn’t wait until they were older and all these little problems would be gone. He said be careful what you wish for. When the kids get older they do have fewer problems but the ones that they do have are a lot bigger. Boy did he call that one right.

  • I found something that made me think of you….

    http://curiosityshoppeonline.com/mukeyho.html

  • You’re kidding, right?  Have you been to Al_son’s site?  Some kids never outgrow “stages”..

  • @craftea - HA! That is a hoot… Believe it or not… I don’t have them all over my house…. just my blog. lol  Frogs however… well, I have a feeling you can relate to that one!

  • @angi1972 - My house is a sad one becasue all of Q’s frogs have been painted over. I am still waiting to move so I can get frogs back on the walls!! And yeah, when my necklace with the frog charm got caught on my laptop latch and *something* broke, I panicked first about my necklace, then the computer — tell you anything? So while I do whine that I want it back from the shop, I am really happy my necklace is okay. LOL

  • Oh Wow! Great post! Kids can sure embarass you huh? Just wait until they are teenagers! ARRRGGHHHH! Then it is our turn to embarass them! teeeheeee

  • Oh Yeah, and just for the record, My Mom is still wondering about my ‘stages’ I am still going through! I think I still may drive her nuts! LOL

  • @craftea - AWW Those were GREAT frogs! I am sorry they had to go. I can’t wait to see what you put up in the next house though!

  • Me too, actually — I don’t have a plan yet, I’m going to wait and see how the room speaks to me.

    Oh, and to stay on topic with your post here, my daughter is having “personal space” issues that I pray is a phase. She just wants to be within an inch or less of anyone she meets, and telling complete strangers every detail of her life. My husband and I (both somewhat introverted) just cringe when we’re out in public with her. Forget “stranger danger”, I want to warn strangers away from HER!

  • Rach will kill me for this……..but here goes!When she was little she used to keep her pants(under variety)pulled so high that her mum says the waist bands used to fray off.If they went too low she used to say ;will I die mum,will i ?How you can associate loose pants with death ,only a child would know!!Bizarre but true!! I’m off to get bludgeoned by Rach

  • I noticed when teaching first grade that kids can be brutally honest….diplomacy takes awhile to develop. My three girls went through lots of short termed stages….One I remember was a stage when they would only eat either the egg white or the egg yolk after seeing older visiting cousins’ picky egg eating habits. It only lasted a few months.

  • My sister’s 20, and she’s SNARKY. Like… terribly snarky. Me no likey.

  • Omg I’m sorry you’re concerned about the rudeness but I laughed so hard at ”Are you waiting to die?” Classic line. I guess they have to go through this kind of thing to get to the other side and in the meantime…try not to worry too much. They sound like angels compared to my 3 lol

  • Mornin Glorie….Life is one repetitious series of stages….It makes things interesting…. when mine were little and acted rudely it usually meant they had done something bad and hadn’t been found out - I could always tell – It’s alright -  this too shall pass…I don’t blame Cooper though can’t a guy just pretend without someone trying to get in his space ….Have a great weekend Ang  ilym and your kids too !

  • My parents said I used to give everything I had away. All you had to do is admire something I owned and it was yours. I’ll also kissed EVERYone I met.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *