August 25, 2008

  • This weekend was all about

    fish,

    fishing tournament 097.jpg

    fish and more…

    fishing tournament 095.jpg

    fish.

    Every year my Pop puts on a fishing tournament for his shop.

    it's raining its pouring.jpg

    This year it was a little wet out…

    They didn’t bring in as many fish this year, I wonder if the weather had anything to do with it.

    team satisfaction.jpg

    Charlie’s fish was so big he had a little trouble holding it up for the picture.

    I don’t think he minded at all.

    His boat didn’t win any prize money this year, but he still had a blast.

    He was fishing with Grandpa!

    This year the fishing was done on the bay’s here in Traverse City,

     Next year it will be back in Frankfort, I can’t wait!

    The picture taking is far better there…

    Last year I got two posts out of it!

    HERE and HERE…

    Only one more week until the kids school starts.

    Is it wrong for me to be looking forward to it this much?

Comments (42)

  • Looks like fun!  Sorry it rained, but it doesn’t look like that stopped the hale and hearty fishermen!

    Kathi

  • The kids here go back to school tomorrow! Summer flew by! We were just in The Big Apple!

  • That fish is almost bigger than Charlie. haha.

  • The fish look delicious. 

  • I see the ducks attended.

  • WOW – those are big fish!

  • Those are awesome fish!  I don’t think in all my years of fishing that I’ve ever caught anything that big.  The time we scooped up a muskie that had been stunned by a passing yacht doesn’t count.

  • never got into fishing.  But those are indeed honkin’ huge ones!

  • Wow!! Those are some big fish!! Glad Charlie had a good time with Granpa, despite the bad weather!

  • I love northern Michigan.  Thanks for all the bits that you show here.  That looks like a lot of fun . . .

  • Fire up the smoker! The pictures make my mouth water.. I’ll have to urge my boss to get out there and catch some again this year so we can have it at the staff Christmas party. Kudos to Charlie on his whopper.

  • Looks like you have all the makings for a great fish fry, except me!

  • tell your son Charlie that he did good!

  • @ideaguy - Whenever you make it this way… let me know, we will see if we can get you a fish that big… THE right way… I have connections.

  • very impressive!

  • A great looking catch they got! Too bad they didn’t get any prize money.

    No, it’s not wrong for a mom to be looking forward to the start of school! I used to sing on the first day, just like that one commerical, “It’s the most wonderful time of the year!” and dance around the kitchen just to annoy my kids.

  • Wow those are big fish. It must have been fun. 

  • Those are some dandies.  I love fishing!  I bet you didnt know that. 

  • Looks like you had a great time, despite the weather.

    And, no, it’s quite all right for you to be looking forward to the kids going back to school!!! I feel you, Girl!

  • Hope not, I can hardly wait for school to start, even if only one of my kids will be going. It’s so much easier for me to have only one kid at a time, I’m kind of looking forward to having Quin home with me another year, even if I have to crack down and homeschool him! But it will be even greater next year when I have both kids in school!

  • OMG That is a big fish they all were. I have never caught a fish like that. My my God Bless

  • Those are some big fish! Must to nice to be in MI :)

  • Big fish! Looks like Coco out of Lake Mic. Great pics girl!

  • That fish your boy caught is HUGE!!!!!

    Later,

    Gina

  • My children are officially READY for school to start.  No matter what I plan, it just isn’t enough fun, and they are constantly fighting.  UGH.  I’m in countdown mode, too!!!

  • That’s a lotta fish! Hope ya’ll have a great fish fry soon!

  • @WakeUpLaughing - I need to try that! lol

  • @turningreen - When mine start fighting… I make them run laps around the house… TRY IT! It works wonders! I did it all last year… and this year I forgot until the summer was almost over and then I remembered what was different… I hadn’t made them lap the house! I’m telling you… It’s good excersise for them… AND they get along better cause no one really wants to lap the house!

  • nice weather for ducks!

  • #3 going on to still_groovy.  Strike that she is protected I will move to

    #4 seedsower

    http://weblog.xanga.com/lhotsedog/671915922/xanga-walkabout.html

    Lisa

  • @angi1972 - Genius!  I love it.  I needed a new trick in my repertoire — thanks for the idea.  Those kids are going to be in great shape by the time school starts!!

  • @turningreen - Oh let me tell you, it REALLY makes them think about weather something is worth bickering over or not… I wish my mom would have done it for my sister and I! lol

  • Grief! That’s some large sea based animals.
    I am suitably impressed!

  • Those fish are huge. Do you cook them? Let’s see…looking forward to your kids returning to school… I’d say you have plenty of company with that sentiment.

  • yum, i love fish. it’s nice that your kids have a great relationship with gramps. i only met my grandfathers once each before they died, and that was back in 1988

  • Dang, those are nice! Pass the tarter sauce!

  • O.O that’s some huge fish! And no not at all. Fall is upon us and you know, although I love summer, I’m ready for it. BRING. IT. ON! I’m just really not looking forward to another New England Winter >.< UHG! That I could do with out! I can’t beileve next week is September and the leaves have already changed!! EEEK!

  • @Criggles12 - Actually they are fresh water… which makes them even MORE impressive. lol And very tasty… if your ever in this neck of the woods… we will see what we can do about getting you a fish dinner!

    @siennachartreuse - @mercyless1 - The same goes for you two… fish dinner if you ever get this way!

    occasionally my Pop fries some up, but I prefer mine with lemon juice, garlic, onions, spinich and then covered in parmesion cheese and put in a foil packet on the grill… Oh it comes out SO yummy it melts in your mouth!

  • Wow! That is awesome. And that shot of the rain!? Oh man yesterday it was like around 100 or something close to it…I can’t remember rain…. sniffle.
    Love your pics as usual :) Enjoy your night.

  • Great golly………..Those are some biggie fish!           

  • wow…love em!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *